Select a Country
  • {{country.Text}}
Select a Language

RIDGID 6800 Watt Yamaha Electric Start Gas Powered Portable Generator

RD906812

RIDGID 6800 Watt Yamaha Electric Start Gas Powered Portable Generator

RD906812
Show Less
Read More

Features

  • GenSmart™ Digital Display – Tracks Usage, Load, Voltage, Hertz, and Engine Maintenance
  • Removable Control Panel with Electric Start
  • Powered by a Yamaha 357cc OHV Commercial Engine
  • Large 7 Gallon Steel Fuel Tank for Up To 9.5 Hours of Runtime at 50% Load
  • Idle Down Technology Automatically Adjusts Power Output for More Efficient and Quieter Operation
  • Safe for Sensitive Electronics – Less Than 6% THD
  • Zero Gravity Hand Truck Frame Design for Ease of Mobility
  • Armour™ Heavy-Duty Alternator with Auto Voltage Regulation
  • (4) 120V 20 Amp (GFCI Protected), and (1) 240 V 30 Amp Twist Lock Outlet
  • 12 in x 4 in Flat Free Foam Filled Wheels with Steel Rim

Specifications

Running Watts / Starting Watts 6,800 W* / 8,500 W
AC Voltage / AC Frequency 120 V / 240 V, 60 Hz
Engine Yamaha Commercial Grade MZ360 OHV
Displacement 359cc
Rated Amperage 56.7 A / 28.3 A
Fuel Tank 7 Gal
Run Time 9.5 hours at 50% load
Warranty 3 Year Limited Warranty
Weight 245 lbs
Height 26 in.
Width 23 in.
Length 36 in.
Total Harmonic Distortion Less Than 6%
RIDGID 6800 Watt Yamaha Electric Start Gas Powered Portable Generator is rated 4.2 out of 5 by 13.
  • y_2018, m_5, d_25, h_19
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_13
  • loc_en, sid_891, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_ridgid
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 35ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Rated 5 out of 5 by from durable Replaced my old Toro with a rigid was best move I had made in a long time durable and reliable when needed!!
Date published: 2014-11-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Generator! Excellent machine. Easy to use and can load my entire house. Has the idle down to save fuel when not needed. The electric start is awesome so the wife doesn't have any issue starting it.
Date published: 2014-11-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works Great This was the first generator I have ever owned. Works great the few times I have used it. Starts with ease and runs great. Highly recommend.
Date published: 2014-11-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Runs my 3400SF home I live in a 3400 sq ft Colonial home in rural New England and, due to winter weather, use my generator 12-20 days each year. I purchased this Ridgid 6800 watt generator to replace the Kawasaki GE5000 generator that my late father-in-law bought in 1984. The Ridgid is easy to assemble, easy to connect and easy to start. My old 5000 watt generator would run pieces of the house but his unit has really covered the gaps. I now run the heat (2 air handlers, 4 zones), the water pump, all the outlets, all lights, 5 LED TVs, 2 refrigerators, a chest freezer and a microwave with no issues. It is a little pricier than some of the competitors but I did a lot of research and would highly recommend this generator for the homeowner looking for an easy to start and run unit.
Date published: 2014-01-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very nice unit Excellent unit, starts right up, runs great. Also bought transfer switch. Tried it out and it runs 3/4 of the whole house with ease.
Date published: 2013-10-18
  • y_2018, m_5, d_25, h_19
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_13
  • loc_en, sid_891, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_ridgid
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 2ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Idle down feature

Can anyone tell me why the idle down feature will not work on my generator? It runs at the same RPM from the time it starts until the time I shut it down. It will not idle down even when the display is at zero (no load). It has approximately 20-23 hours on it and is kept in out of the rain. I don't believe it has ever worked from the time it was new. Is there something that I can give a quick look at to see if it is functioning correctly? Thank you.
Asked by: treadhead88
Thank you for your interest in RIDGID! The idol down works after about 5min of no voltage running thru the system. If there is anything plugged into the outlet then even if it is not showing it on the gen smart board there is still a very small amount of power being drawn thru. Like if you have a radio plugged into the generator and is turned off it is still drawing power thru the circuit boards or even a lamp that is plugged in will still draw power even if it is off. If you have read the information from the power company on how to conserve power unplug anything that is not being used because it still draws a very small amount of power. You can unplug everything from the generator and see if it idols down after 5 to 10 minutes, if it does then the idol down works if not then first we need to make sure this is a model with the idol down. If it is then it would need to go to the local service center for repair. Or you can send an email at [email protected] and we will be happy to help you directly. Regards, RIDGID
Answered by: RIDGIDtools
Date published: 2017-09-06

what is the difference between the RD906812B & D series generators

Asked by: foam
Thank you for your interest in RIDGID. The most recent unit is the RD906814P, which does not have a removable electrical panel and 25’ extension cord included. The RD906812B, however, does have a removable electrical panel and 25’ extension cord included. Regards, RIDGID
Answered by: RIDGIDtools
Date published: 2017-09-06

It is flashing Maintenance HRS on the display, what does that mean

Asked by: StevenJ
Thank you for your interest in RIDGID! In the manual, under the maintenance section, the chart lays out what you need to do at each total hours level. Basically, it is a maintenance alert. Regards, RIDGID
Answered by: RIDGIDtools
Date published: 2017-09-06

Does battery charge when running?

I actually have a RD906814P from Home Depot and I probably will not be using this except during power outages. If i run it for 15 minutes or so a month will that keep the battery charged? Should I get a trickle charger and if so, can you recommend one?
Asked by: FastFrankie
Thank you for contacting RIDGID. Yes it will charge as it is running. 15 -20 minutes per month run time should be adequate, however our concern is the state of the fuel left in the tank over an extended period, unless a stabilizer has been added. To be absolutely sure the battery is fully charged, a battery tender could be used. There are numerous battery tenders on the market, and as to a selection of which brand to purchase we would suggest checking the online reviews for each product, before making a decision. Regards, RIDGID
Answered by: RIDGIDtools
Date published: 2017-09-06

Can I order replacement parts for this and how?

Asked by: Captainsaltybanks
Thank you for contacting RIDGID. You can order parts for your RIDGID 6800 Watt Yamaha Electric Start Gas Powered Portable Generator from our RIDGID master parts and accessory distributor at 877-544-9253.
Answered by: RIDGID14
Date published: 2017-09-06

Dimensions Clarification

In the picture, this unit looks somewhat square, yet the dimensions show 23x36. Is this the actual frame measurement? If it does not include the wheels, how many inches need to be added to both the length and the width?
Asked by: Coyotekathy
Hello! Thank you for your interest in RIDGID. The approximate dimensions with the wheels are 30” wide and 33” deep (front to rear). Regards, RIDGID
Answered by: RIDGIDtools
Date published: 2017-09-06

Power head, Voltage regulation

Does this gen-set use 100% copper windings in the power head? Is this a brush or brush-less design? How is the voltage regulated? Does this gen-set have a fuel gauge? What type of lubrication system does the Yamaha engine use? full pressurized, slinger, semi pressurized?
Asked by: wml52
There is no information provided by engineering concerning the gen-head winding composition, due to design proprietary concerns. The RD906812 model generator has brushes, and does not have a fuel gauge feature. All engine related questions the customer may have would need to be addressed for the customer by the engine manufacturer Yamaha at, 1-866-788-7398. Thank you RIDGID
Answered by: RIDGID
Date published: 2017-09-06

Electric start won't work

I have the rigid 6800 watt generator. The pull start starts the generator but my electric start is not. I thought maybe a dead battery but it still didn't work after running the generator or hooking battery up to charger.
Asked by: Mbielski81
Thank you for contacting RIDGID. We are sorry to hear you are having issues with your generator. Please call the RIDGID technical support department at 866-539-1710 so we can assist.
Answered by: RIDGID14
Date published: 2017-09-06

battery charging

Does the generator charge the battery while it is running?
Asked by: GAmass
Thank you for your interest in RIDGID! Yes, the RD906812A or B has a charge coil in the engine and charges battery when running. Regards, RIDGID
Answered by: RIDGIDtools
Date published: 2017-09-06

How to convert Ridgid 6800 generator to natural gas?

Asked by: OkWagner

Is the 240 VAC twist lock connection on the control panel (Item D) ground fault protected?

Will a power cord connected to the 240 VAC twist lock need additional ground fault protection at the distant location to protect workers and tools?
Asked by: firechief467

I just purchased and used this generator during a power outage. I noticed 2 clocks rang faster. Can the output frequency be adjusted?

I previously used a 6250 continuous watt generator to run same 6 circuits and saw no impact on the clocks keeping time. Also it seemed to impact the performance of my zoning system for my FHA furnace. I had to manually reset the controller board several times to have to have the furnace run when the zone thermostats called for heat. This also never happened with the old generator. I only replaced the generator because this one has a slightly higher output and it is electric start vs pull start. According to the info I have on the furnace controller, if this generator has a THD < 8%, I should not have issues. According to your spec sheet, your genertor is supposed to be better. Now I am wondering what I can do to correct this short of returning the generator. A shame since it seems to run smoothly, starts easy and is relatively quiet.
Asked by: NHBuckeye
  • y_2018, m_5, d_25, h_19CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_17
  • loc_en, sid_891, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LOCALE, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_ridgid
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 48ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT