Select a Country
  • {{country.Text}}
Select a Language

18V HYPERDRIVE™ Brushless 18V 2-1/2 in. Straight Finish Nailer

R09892B

18V HYPERDRIVE™ Brushless 18V 2-1/2 in. Straight Finish Nailer

R09892B

RIDGID introduces the HyperDrive Brushless 18V 2-1/2 in. Straight Finish Nailer. This tool features the ability to drive up to 1,450 nails on a single 4.0Ah battery (not included). RIDGID Brushless Motors offer more run-time and longer motor life. With registration, this tool is backed by the Industry’s Only Lifetime Service Agreement.

Show Less
Read More

Features

  • Magnesium Construction for durable and lightweight design
  • Easy Maintenance to replace wear parts in less than 10 minutes
  • Tool-Free Power Adjustment regulates power for optimum results
  • Transparent Magazine allows for convenient viewing of nail supply
  • Selectable Mode Switch for single or bump fire modes
  • Tool-Free Depth of Drive Adjustment provides accurate depth control to protect work surface
  • Dry-Fire Lockout prevents misfires
  • Tool-Free Jam Release for east access to clear jams
  • Covered for Life with Registration
  • Includes: - (1) R09892 Brushless 18V Straight Finish Nailer, (200) Straight Finish Nails, (1) Belt Clip, (1) Contractor's Bag, and Operator's Manual

Specifications

Straight Finish Nailer:

Type of Nail: 16 Gauge Straight Finish
Magazine Capacity: 105 Nails
Nail Length: 3/4 in.-2-1/2 in.
Fastener Collation: Glue Strip
Returnable: 90-Day
18V HYPERDRIVE™ Brushless 18V 2-1/2 in. Straight Finish Nailer is rated 2.4 out of 5 by 21.
  • y_2019, m_7, d_19, h_7
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_21
  • loc_en, sid_1150, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_ridgid
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 108ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Solid battery nailer with sufficient power I'm an Install Manager for a building supply company where I'm in charge of several turn-key trade accounts, primarily for windows, doors, and trim. Several times a week I have to pull out tools to perform minor punch work, so I selected a bundle of Rigid tools to keep behind the seat of my extended cab truck for such occasions. I use this nailer primarily to install trim. Pros: Workhorse nailer. This nailer will handle most anything I can throw at it. It's durable, I've dropped it numerous times and it's still intact. Great to have a built-in light that can be turned on without having to engage the nailer itself. I've used this nailer several hours a week for the last eight months and it's never jammed. The head is designed with good visibility for where to place your shot. Some pneumatic nailers I have are better suited for delicate detailed work, but this is fine for most trim work. I'm comfortable assembling returns on crown and rounded corners with it without fear of blow-out or not putting a nail where I need to. Cons: Heavy for a nailer. I didn't compare weights when I chose this tool, but my arm tires quickly when I have to hold it above my head or out horizontally for a long time. Some of my coworkers have also commented about it being heavy. I'd compare it's weight to a standard framing gun. Misshot nails. 2" nails have a tendency to misshoot or not seat fully on occasion. I've played with the setting dial on the gun, but I still have to use a nail punch frequently to set nail heads. Overall, it's a good tool. Doesn't drain battery life quickly at all. Great nailer when you need to put up some trim quickly and don't want to drag out a compressor and hose.
Date published: 2017-10-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 3 Nail Set Adjustments There are 3 settings for nail set depth: 1) Depth setting knob on front of tool, 2) Power setting on back of tool, AND 3) There is a setting between just above the battery. I think everyone commenting about nail setting miss this third setting. I did too at first and was frustrated by flush nails until I found the third setting. I am using a 2" nail going through 3/4" pine into a stud. It's setting the nail just underneath the surfce like I want. I like this nailer. Got it well below market at a pawn shop. Probably because someone didn't like the nail set depth, LOL!
Date published: 2017-03-09
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Keep a nail set close! I have several Ridgid tools, and it has become my preferred brand when purchasing new tools. I was excited to add this nailer to my collection, but was really let down after using it. With pressure and depth both set to max, I could not sink 1" nails into pine!! I had to go back and manually set every nail. This is no where near the standard I have come to expect from Ridgid, and sadly this nail gun will be going back to Home Depot ASAP. I love and always recommend Ridgid tools, but skip on this one until they can resolve this issue.
Date published: 2017-01-02
Rated 1 out of 5 by from I was hoping for better I bought this nailer so wouldn't have to drag my compressor out to the field on tiny fixes. I started using it and the nail heads were being left out of the wood and it wouldn't counter sink them. After a few minutes, this stopped and I didn't have a problem other than having to set the nails. I pulled it out again today, 2 weeks after buying and using it for the first time. Now, rather than just leaving the nail head out an 1/8th of an inch, it will only penetrate 1/8th of an inch into pine.... if it will even fire at all. I only shot maybe 50 nails with this gun before it stopped working. This is not what I was expecting at all. I have always trusted Rigid tools, but this one is junk.
Date published: 2016-12-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Has worked well for some time Other reviews are accurate that you need to put some pressure behind it in order to drive into harder woods especially with 2+" nails. I have used this for pine trim as well as 3/4" Hickory flooring in tight spaces. I have shot 1000+ nails in the past year and even purchased an additional one. It drives an incredible number of nails on one charge! Now for the bad news. Mine stopped working this week. The plunger stopped working correctly. Im guessing the gearing from the motor to the plunger shaft. Took it to my local Home Depot for repair. I was pretty disappointed that they charged me a $20 diagnostic fee. The equivalent of a deductible for an insurance policy I guess. On a final note, the body of the nailer is so large that getting into some corners or tight spots(under cabinet, kick plate) can be a problem. All in all, it beats dragging a hose around and listening to a compressor all day.
Date published: 2016-11-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Goodbye compressor First let me say I was on the fence with this nail gun. I read many negative reviews and comments. I also know my 16 Ridgid power tools have never failed me and when they did it was after years of reliable service. I owned the Ryobi Airstrike and had no luck so I returned it. When I saw this I decided to try it. I attached a 4 Ah battery loaded the gun with 2&1/2 inch nails and hung a closet door . The jambs or door frame was MDF . The first few nails did not countersink. And I thought wow the reviews were right ...but then I applied a minimal amount of pressure and every nail went through without an issue. I then installed the trim fj pine through 1/2 drywall this time using 1 &1/2 nails no problems at all. The gun worked perfectly . Just for the heck of it before I hung the other doors I nail a 2x4 to the face of another 2x4 just to see what would happen . I used 2 &1/2 inch nails . No problem it countersunk every nail . I then added 1/2 inch drywall to the double 2x4s and nailed the trim to that! I fired some 40 nails throught 2 2x4s. 1/2 inch drywall and trim! No misfires or jams.the gun is sturdily built comes with a nice carry bag and supply of nails. The LED light is functional and also serves as a diagnostic tool as well. I see many negative reviews and I am not doubting them at all my friend swears by his Ryobi and mine died after 3-4 nails! But if you apply a small amount of downward pressure it works perfectly. I am more than satisfied with my purchase. And my registration went 1.2.3
Date published: 2016-04-29
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Doesn't set nails Won't set nails even in spruce . Fix it . You know this is not an isolated incidence these nailers don't work . Waste of time and money. New products should be better not worse .
Date published: 2016-04-11
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Wont Nail I agree with the other reviews, It wont nail. It worked for the first few nails but then it just stopped driving the nails in. The depth is set for as deep as possible and the pressure is turned up all the way. It just bounces off the wood. The good thing is I went back to Home Depot and the replaced it with out any questions. Home Depot is awesome . I will try another one because Home Depot is awesome.
Date published: 2016-03-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent finish nailer I have no idea what these other reviewers are talking about. I have used this nail gun extensively for all the trim work in a 1200 sf ranch and haven't had a issue with nail depth. I didn't pull my nail set out of my tool pouch once. I've also used it to finish a bar that I built utilizing oak and once again with the proper settings I never pulled out my nail set once. In my opinion it far exceeds the Paslode finish nailers I've used in the past. Thanks again Ridgid for another quality tool.
Date published: 2016-02-26
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Will not set nails I bought this for a DYI baseboard job. I love my Ridgid tools, but this one got returned. It would not set nails in MDF base boards. Took it back to Home Depot with no issues. I am hoping it will get redesigned. Power was turned all they way up and set depth set to max. I had a brand new 4 amp battery.
Date published: 2016-01-25
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Could be better... Just purchased this nailer a couple days ago in hopes I could save time on my smaller jobs. Gave the battery a full charge before testing, but even then with the air and depth adjustment set to full, it would barely sink the nails below the surface of the wood. I still feel it will save time vs. my pneumatic guns, but I will be sure to have a nail set on hand.
Date published: 2015-12-24
Rated 1 out of 5 by from as others stated "wont sink nails so, safe to say I qualify as "expert" owning ( I just counted them) 21 nail guns over 5 brands. with that said I also am partial to ridged power tools.( it would take me too long to go thru the trucks to count all the ridged tools my company owns. as other reviews stated gun wont counter sink at highest setting. at best it is just proud of flush. we tested exactly 200 nails and used two separate brands. in a white pine 2 x 4 nails 2.5 in were just proud, you heard metal to metal and felt the "bump" lightly running a puddy knife over the wood. at the highest depth setting it was clearly 1/8 inch. completely un acceptable for any kind if interior trim. every nail would show with any kind of gloss /painted finish. NOTE removing the foot cushion allowed the nail to set about a 64th just enough to allow some room for puddy to stick. But why would I want to throw away the foot guard from a brand new gun! we moved on to nailing a piece of 356 casing to an "old 2 x 4. results were consistently the same. this gun is just slightly underpowered. if your going to try a remodel that has old hard 2 x4 s forget it...hard woods....forget it. sorry to say this is going back.
Date published: 2015-12-24
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Nail depth issues Sick of the Passload failures I figured I would try a cordless finish nailer. Since I have Rigid drills that have served me well figured it would be a good fit. Used it to trim out windows and baseboard (pine) and the nail head depth would barely make it to the surface of the wood. Would not countersink even at max pressure and max depth adjustment. Contacted Rigid and rep said "oh no it should countersink nails" so recommended I return it for another one...well number two is doing the same thing. Wish I had better news. Retuning it for refund.
Date published: 2015-11-24
  • y_2019, m_7, d_19, h_7
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_21
  • loc_en, sid_1150, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_ridgid
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 2ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 60ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT
  • bvseo-msg: The resource to the URL or file is currently unavailable.;