Select a Country
  • {{country.Text}}
Select a Language

16 gal. 5.0-Peak HP Wet Dry Vac

WD1640

16 gal. 5.0-Peak HP Wet Dry Vac

WD1640

The RIDGID 16 Gal. Wet/Dry Vacuum features a 5-peak HP motor that provides powerful suction for heavy-duty cleanups. The blowing port is ideal for blowing leaves from walkways and decks, and the polypropylene drum resists dents, rust and corrosion. The vacuum has an accessory storage space at the top of each caster for quick access to attachments and includes a built-in drain for easy emptying of liquids.

Show Less
Read More

Features

  • Large capacity & powerful - great for everyday messes.
  • Includes accessory storage, 2 wands, nozzle, and a 7 ft. hose.
  • Features the RIDGID lifetime warranty.
  • Powerful, 5-peak HP motor.
  • Blowing port is ideal for blowing leaves or grass clippings away from walkways and decks.
  • Integrated handles in the polypropylene drum make moving or carrying the vacuum a breeze.
  • Includes 4 caster feet with accessory storage, 2 wands, utility nozzle and 7 ft. x 1-7/8 in. hose.
  • Comes with 1-pleated paper filter for everyday debris.
  • Accepts replacement filters VF4000, VF5000, VF6000 and VF7000.

Specifications

Drum Size (Gallons) 16
Cord Length 15 ft.
Accessory Size 1 7/8"
Net Weight 23.2 lb
Built-In Accessory Storage Yes
Built-In Drain Yes
Casters Yes
Includes Vac, Utility Nozzle, Hose, 2 Extension Wands, Filter
Reconditioned No
Returnable 90-Day
Filter Type Cartridge
Included Filter VF4000
U.L. Listed Yes

Motor

Peak HP 5
Air Volume (CFM)  115
Amperage (amps)  9
Voltage 120

Ordering Information

Kits/Hoses/Etc.
{{model}}
Catalog Number Model No. Description Weight
lb. kg
24608 VT 2570  4X Pro Hose Replacement (VT2570)  Buy Now
31743 VT 1755  3 Piece Adapter Kit   Buy Now
32703 VT 2575  Heavy Duty Cleaning Kit: 12 Piece Kit w/Stainless Steel Extension Wands (VT2575)  9.80  4.40  Buy Now
41598 VT 2561  Filter Nut/Drain Cap Combo (VT2561)  Buy Now
41603 VT 2571  Turbo "Beater Bar" Kit (VT2571)  Buy Now
Filters and Dustbags
{{model}}
Model No. Description Weight
lb. kg
VF3502  Replacement Filter Bag (2)  Buy Now
VF4000  Qwik-Lock™ Pleated Paper Filter  Buy Now
VF5000  Qwik-Lock™ Fine Dust Filter  Buy Now
VF6000  Filter Assembly 8.23 Hepa Green  Buy Now
VF7000  Filter Assembly 8.23" - RIDGID  Buy Now
16 gal. 5.0-Peak HP Wet Dry Vac is rated 4.4 out of 5 by 184.
  • y_2019, m_8, d_23, h_8
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_184
  • loc_en, sid_1316, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_ridgid
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 240ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The warranty is the best . Had a problem with my first shop vac,. Took it back and HD replaced it , no hard questions asked.
Date published: 2019-02-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I bought this Wet/Dry Vac on sale for $78 CAD and for that price you can’t go wrong. I’ve only used this a few times since purchasing it and so far it’s been great! It picks up all the debris around the shop with ease. I haven’t used it as a wet vac yet so I won’t speak that. I purchased this on sale for $78 CAD and for that price I don’t think you can go wrong. I wish it would have come with an adapter for fit my RIDGID table saw but I can always pick that up later... I only gave it a 4 start for durability since I haven’t had it that long and it’s all plastic... it feels well built and the plastic isn’t flimsy so that’s good. Time will tell in the next few years how it holds up but with the RIDGID lifetime warranty I’m not too worried.
Date published: 2019-02-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Powerful Nice large, powerful vac at a good price. Not sure about durability at this point but is seems well built.
Date published: 2019-02-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good solid wet/dry vac I can't comment on durability, as I've only had the vacuum for about 10 days to this point. Cleaned up drywall dust with ease, pulled sand/grit from mudroom entry way and destroyed dog hair. It's doing everything I expect it to do. Can't wait to get some of the car detailing accessories and deep clean my car. I'm very happy with this purchase.
Date published: 2019-02-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product Easy to assemble and use. My only concern (and this is really not a big deal) is that, when moving the device around when cleaning something, the cord gets in the way of the wheels on the device and it sometimes tips over.
Date published: 2019-01-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Vacuum This was a great deal from Home Depot. It works amazing. I spent the extra money and bought the 10Ft hose and attachments. Well worth it. Strong suction, and the noise level is actually really good. I had a RIDGID 22L 3.5 hp that also worked great but was so LOUD. Would definitely recommend this unit.
Date published: 2019-01-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Ridged rises to the test again I have been a ridgid fan for quite some time now, not only because their tools are solid and take a beating, but also due to their lifetime warranty. The guys are always ribbing me because every time I buy a new ridgid tool I walk around saying, “last one of these I’ll ever have to buy!” Anyways, got a great deal on the vacuum and it sucks and blows just like it’s supposed to! And guess what..,,it’s the last vacuum cleaner I’ll ever have to buy.
Date published: 2019-01-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Hose is too ridgid the hose on this unit can be a lot more flexible. The motor whines a little bit more than I am use too. Still getting use to this vacuum as I had a very small Stanley vac that this has replaced.
Date published: 2019-01-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Big help in an emergency When our basement flooded with water coming from the floor drain, a quick clean up was necessary. Fortunately, our local Home Depot had the RIDGID 16 gal. vacuum on sale at 50% off. It was easy to assemble, light, and compact. I'll be getting some of the accessories for use in the future. The wet dry vacuum is a tool I have long wanted and this incident motivated me to finally make the plunge (no pun intended).
Date published: 2019-01-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A great brand and a great product The product for the price was a great investment considering that the rigid brand name stands for durability and long-lasting. The Shop-Vac moves around with ease and the horsepower for the vacuum is absolutely wonderful. The accessory attachments alone are a plus, I highly would recommend this product two others.
Date published: 2019-01-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This product REALLY SUCKS!!! (And BLOWS!!, depending on use) I have had my Wet/Dry vacuum for years. It ran well until the wire to the motor burned itself off. It could have been an easy fix if I did not encounter any trouble removing the motor from its housing. The bottom screw broke apart and I cannot remove it to access the wire that burnt off. If I could have done that, then I would have a working vacuum. Now all I have is parts and a wish to see if the vacuum is covered under warranty. RIDGID should really specify what is covered under its manufacturer's warranty and what is NOT. Peace
Date published: 2019-01-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A useful tool Suction is strong,machine is easy to move around. I like the smaller,lighter hose.
Date published: 2019-01-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I always had ridgid wet/dry vacs for all my DIY projects at home and family. Worked out perfectly. Always owned ridgid wet/dry vac. Love them. Great price, accessories and ease of used. I bought one for my son for xmas last year, He wanted to do two bathroom upgrades and worked out perfectly. Picked up all debris without any problems. The suction power for the 5.0 hp motor is great. Easy to clean and the filter even thought i bought extra, was able to clean and wash it and let dry and back to business. Definetly would recommend to a friend.
Date published: 2019-01-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lots of power easy to move around. Got a great price on Black Friday discount ; this replaces my old Craftsman shop vac which served me very well - hope this one can match it
Date published: 2019-01-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Handles easily-- to empty water from basement Pleased with 16 gallon Wet Dry Vac thus far. Have had to use only once, after flooding in basement. Easy to handle, rolls, and has low drain for ease of emptying into basement floor drain.
Date published: 2019-01-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Vacuum and price This is a great vacuum for the shop but I do have a concern. I bought this Ridgid vac to match up to my Ridgid table saw and found out the do not have the appropriate sized adaptor to connect to the dust collection end at the back of the saw. I bought everything to adapt the vacuum that Ridgid suggests and ended up buying a reducer in the plumbing dept for it. Please correct this situation it is very frustrating !
Date published: 2019-01-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Pretty Cheap version of their better Vacs This is one of Black Friday deals that HD does and you get what you pay for. It works great, but is pretty cheaply made compared to the better Ridgid vacs they sell. I’m using it for home use so it will be fine for me. Would not recommend it if you want it for construction or commercial usage. Ryan
Date published: 2019-01-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Magnificent I've only used it a couple times and it's superb. I've used many ridgid shop vacs and they have all been reliable. I would definitely recommend them.
Date published: 2019-01-01
Rated 3 out of 5 by from This product seemed to be a unusually cheap product made by ridgid just for a Black Friday deal. I haven’t had this wet/dry vac long enough to know how well it will hold up over time but it seems to be a lower end product made by ridgid to sell just on Black Friday. When comparing it to other ridgid wet/dry vacs it seems to be a lower end quality. It’s not as sturdy, I’m guessing they used a cheaper plastic or thinner plastic for the unit. It came with very cheap vacuum hose and only 1 attatchment. I went ahead and spent an extra $40 on a new vacuum hose and a few other attatchments. We bought the vacuum for $39 on Black Friday and then the extra $40 on the hose and attatchments for a total of $80 ish, so still pretty cheap for a vacuum this size plus it has ridgids lifetime warranty. So I guess if it doesn’t hold up at least it’s covered!
Date published: 2018-12-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Does everything you want and more I use my shopvac almost everyday. It performs amazingly every time I turn it on. It’s my first rigid product and first time using rigid at all. It’s the reason I changed everything over to rigid and will continue until everything is rigid!
Date published: 2018-12-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This vacuum was easy to set up I had the vacuum running in no time. I used it to vacuum the floor of my garage after cutting some wood. I haven't had too long, but, so far so good.
Date published: 2018-12-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This thing blows...and sucks! Great suction. Works well hooked up to my woodworking tools and pulling wood dust off the shop floor. I have not tried the wet function yet, thankfully no basement or garage flooding to require it. I gave 4 stars because the hose stowing solution is lacking. You have to essentially tie the hose around the top of the unit. Some type of clamp/clip would be better. Also the caster shoulder pieces aren't anchored in very tightly, they merely snap into place. I imagine I'll have to put a screw in each to keep them from falling off the bottom. I've not had it long enough to give an accurate rating for durability, but so far it seems like pretty sturdy construction and the motor housing seems Rigid enough to last a while.
Date published: 2018-12-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quiet, powerful & easy to use I found it quiet, powerful & easy to use. Good casters, durable construction and yet lightweight.
Date published: 2018-12-23
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Budget Vac This particular model was the budget level of Ridgid Vacs Like most of Ridgid shop vacs, the hose, wand, and attachments are not well thought out. They are cheap and easily become difficult to hold together and disassemble. 5hp is adequate for light cleanup but it can't pick up a penny laying flat on the floor.when the filter or bag is anything but brand new.
Date published: 2018-12-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to use and very powerful. Great tool! Very powerful! Easy to use! LOVE Ridgid tools!
Date published: 2018-12-20
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Sucks but blows Had to buy an extra hose kit which was 50% of whole unit cost because th hose is a obout 4 feet long. Then just assumed attachments would go together, they don't. So now i have to store two hoses and attachments one for wet one for dry. Probably going to trip over. Them for years and not ne able to find them when needed. Thought this would clean up my garage
Date published: 2018-12-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works great for a 1 1/2” hose machine. This is the little brother to a 16 gal shop vac that I use in my shop (hobby). It works great provided you won’t need the larger 2 1/2” hose. If you don’t this unit is much cheaper and a great machine and value. It has great suction, easy to get at the controls. It does not come with a lot of attachments. I seldom if ever use the attachments so this works well for me. It rolls easily but is big so don’t underestimate its size. It is relatively light and well built. I would recommend again as long as you don’t need a larger hose.
Date published: 2018-12-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this vac, use it for house, garage and costruction jobs. Love this vac, use it for house, garage and costruction jobs.
Date published: 2018-12-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quiet and powerful Light weight for its size, very quiet, and very powerful vacuum. Long and flexible cord. Clip system to keep attachments connected. Nice blower feature as well.
Date published: 2018-12-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great vacuum for the price . easy to attach to a variety of tools, work great will all of them super useful.
Date published: 2018-12-08
  • y_2019, m_8, d_23, h_8
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_184
  • loc_en, sid_1316, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_ridgid
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 4ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 124ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT
  • bvseo-msg: The resource to the URL or file is currently unavailable.;