Select a Country
  • {{country.Text}}
Select a Language

4 Gallon Portable Wet/Dry Vac

WD4070

4 Gallon Portable Wet/Dry Vac

WD4070

The RIDGID® Portable wet/dry vac is designed to deliver powerful performance in a compact size. Its lightweight, small size and large carry handle provide comfortable portability. Large rear wheels and front casters provide great mobility and the accessory storage caddy keeps nozzles and wands close at hand. The vacuum’s 5.0 peak horsepower motor, 20-foot power cord, blowing capability, locking hose, quiet operation and 3-layer fine dust filter will please Pros and DIY’ers alike.

Show Less
Read More

Features

  • 5.0 Peak HP motor provides powerful performance comparable to larger size wet/dry vacs
  • Lightweight vac is extremely portable
  • Large carry handle is designed for convenient portability
  • Large rear wheels & casters provide great mobility over carpeted floors, thresholds, and rough floors at job sites
  • Accessory storage caddy keeps accessories organized and close by for easy access
  • Tug-A-Long® locking hose won’t pull loose during use
  • 1-7/8" diameter hose offers non-clogging performance similar to larger diameter hoses with the flexibility of smaller diameter hoses
  • Long 20' power cord allows wide area cleaning and wraps neatly around carry handle when it’s not in use
  • Blowing capability allows the vac to convert to a powerful, portable blower when the hose is inserted into the exhaust port
  • 3-layer fine dust filter captures fine dust particles such as dry wall dust

Specifications

Drum Size (Gallons) 4
Cord Length 20 ft.
Accessory Size 1 7/8"
Net Weight 12 lb
Built-In Accessory Storage Yes
Built-In Drain No
Casters Yes
Includes Vac, Car Nozzle, Utility Nozzle, Hose, 2 Extension Wands, Fine Dust Filter
Reconditioned No
Returnable 90-Day
Filter Type Cartridge
Included Filter VF3500
U.L. Listed Yes

Motor

Peak HP 5
Air Volume (CFM)  110
Amperage (amps)  9
Voltage 120

Support Documents

Ordering Information

{{model}}
Catalog Number Model No. Description Weight Cord Length Air Watts  (G/h)
lb. kg ft. m
WD4070EX VAC, WD4070EX 4 GALLON 
4 Gallon Portable Wet/Dry Vac is rated 4.6 out of 5 by 938.
  • y_2019, m_9, d_16, h_15
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_938
  • loc_en, sid_134, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_ridgid
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 38ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Rated 5 out of 5 by from light weight and effective Great vacuum I bought for our large outdoor patio and rooftop, light and maneuverable with good suction. easy to empty and store. Good value for money
Date published: 2019-08-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great small shop Vacuum with a lot of power and great suction! This small vac is easy to tug around. It has plenty of power and a lot of suction for such a little vac. I would highly recommend this shop vacuum.
Date published: 2019-08-22
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Very hard to work with hose otherwise performance wise not a problem at all but change this hard and cheap vac hose. I'm not satisfied with it. Also Very hard to work with this kind of hose otherwise performance wise not a problem at all but change this hard and cheap vac hose. I'm not satisfied with hose always came out from vac hole. Please send me better one.
Date published: 2019-08-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect balance of power and compact size. Perfect balance between good power, yet a compact size. I didn’t need a 16 gallon monster taking up limited garage space nor do I have a need to vac 16 gallons worth of stuff. But this vac doesn’t skip on power. I purchased the car attachment accessory bundle. While the hose is a good upgrade, the end is reduced thus losing suction. Also when using that hose to blow, it doesn’t stay attached despite the plastic retaining clip.
Date published: 2019-08-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from More powerful than my regular vacuum. I love this little vacuum! I was using my husband's big wet/dry vac, but it's so big & bulky so he bought me my own for the house. It works so much better than my regular vacuum. It has great suction to pick up dog hair & spider webs. I definitely recommend this product!
Date published: 2019-08-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great compact shop vac with lots of power I am very pleased with this vacuum. It is compact yet has the same power of my larger Ridgid vac. I have a small shop with limited space and this fits my needs perfectly.
Date published: 2019-08-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Get in small places It cleaned very well easy to pull around the car. An the basement and the shop better than my craftsman
Date published: 2019-08-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good for a while I had this vac and a larger one. Both I did not use heavily yet both just died on me. I took them apart to see if I could repair them and could not find the issue or anything wrong with it. I bought this new machine and it seems pretty strong right out of the box. But, I hope that it doesn't turn out to be like the other 2, just use for a few years and throw away. Time will tell, I guess...
Date published: 2019-08-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Use it everyday I use my Ridgid 4 gallon vac every day to clean the leaves off my patio and deck. I have sixteen 80 foot Hackberry trees just feet from my patio and deck. They drop leaves and berries every day. My Ridgid sucks them up with ease. I did need to purchase the larger hose but it was worth every penny. This isn’t your typical use for a wet/dry vac but it works.
Date published: 2019-08-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I was already familiar with model I have a part time job washing and cleaning interiors of vehicles, I use the same vacuum there as I purchased. Excellent suction, works well as blower, does not tip over. Easy filter change and clean up.
Date published: 2019-07-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 2nd one I've owned -wheels were a great add on- But the worst decision not to include the muffler/diffuser was a bad idea-people will be upset when dust and dirt are blown around not knowing there is one second: I like having the more flexible smaller hose I bought extra to use in house only problem was I can't find or buy the reducer/adaptor when mine broke- fits between the hose and the base I use mine in house mostly for dog hair n stairs
Date published: 2019-07-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice Bought to clean out pellet grill, fast,light weight, it vacuums
Date published: 2019-07-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very easy to use and store Could not be more pleased. Ideal for my small workshop.
Date published: 2019-07-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from this product is good for wet and dry. We only used it once so far. It did a good job. We will use it more in the future
Date published: 2019-07-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from All around a great product This vac is powerful and convenient I need it to remove water from my car after a heavy rain event. It remove about 8gallons and sucked the carpet almost dry. I would recommend it especially for its ease of use and very stable resisting fall over while working with it.
Date published: 2019-06-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This thing has power, but needs a carpet brush attachment. Ridgid please... make a power brush attachment for carpets. And please... with stainless bearings. Either suction powered or electric without freaking belts. Then will see Dyson, Hover, or Junkie Kong Vac, making wet or dry vac. These Vacs, "5 Peak and up", have plenty of suction power if used correctly. It can unclog a sink, dry a wet floor or pick up normal dust. Yes, they are clumsy and loud, but it is a trade of. They are affordable and versatile.
Date published: 2019-06-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Value for the money and powerful Always heard a lot about rigid vacuums performance and their durability. I have now experienced it.
Date published: 2019-06-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Excellent power Excellent power and tool set. The flex hose should be about 24" longer to provide better freedom from the main unit. All around a great purchase!
Date published: 2019-06-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Vac Great Vac. love the handle on top, smaller size and maneuverability for around the house. Wish there was a few more 1 7/8" accessories, but still love it!!
Date published: 2019-06-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It sucks! It sucks up dirt well! Really loud. Louder than most vacuums. It has come in handy on keeping my car clean though!
Date published: 2019-06-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great for condo/apt living I researched virtually every small wet vac on the market and went with this one. Best combination of power, small size and waste capacity. A few deficiencies: Not including a brush is a huge oversight forcing any buyer to purchase a $12 option The hose is poor quality and prone to kinking if not careful. Some easy to use cord storage would be helpful. But still the best option out there.
Date published: 2019-06-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best vacuum ever! Use this for car detailing and is super sucky. Got it for $70ish and has been my best investment ever for my business.
Date published: 2019-05-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very good. Thus far it has lived up to its billing. Good product!
Date published: 2019-05-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quality product at a good price I recently bought this vac for cleaning out the car and other general garage clean up, including dirt/gravel pick up following winter. So far I am satisfied with the performance and value for money. The suction power is great, as is the ease of use/maintenance. I would recommend.
Date published: 2019-05-27
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not much suction Inadequate suction when using the attachments. Works decently when just using the hose but it’s not practical.
Date published: 2019-05-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! We have 3 dogs that stay inside. We spent lots of money and purchased a Dyson Vacuum (the purple for pets) and it didn't last long at all. We had been using a regular size shop vac but it was just so big pulling around the house. We found this and have been in love ever since. It is light weight and rolls easy. Would highly recommend it!
Date published: 2019-05-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Excellent vacuum for cleaning vehicles and other small jobs Great little vacuum. Doesn’t need a lot of space to store. Powerful vacuum from something small. Cons- attachment hoses is too short for cleaning vehicle and you have to buy the car kit which has a longer hose and other attachment to help you get the job done. Expensive kit. Not looking forward to buying it. Might as well find a different vacuum that has the longer hose.
Date published: 2019-05-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Enjoying the product so far. I used it a few times already and I am enjoying the product so far.
Date published: 2019-05-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This little guy sucks Our old shop vac finally died and I was pleasantly surprised how much of an improvement this one was, even with the filter bag installed. We sand a large amount of Bakelite and our old shop vac was not up to the task of collecting all of the fine dust. This little 4 gallon vac was small enough to fit on the bottom shelf of the portable cart we have our stationary sander on. I had been looking at an over-complicated dust collection scheme, but with the price and ease of use, this vacuum was clearly the way to go.
Date published: 2019-05-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Mini Monster & Great deal I bought this vacuum cleaner from The Home Depot and it's an extremely great item from Ridgid. I'm very happy about that and I recommend anybody to grab one of those to clean shop and car
Date published: 2019-05-19
  • y_2019, m_9, d_16, h_15
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_938
  • loc_en, sid_134, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_ridgid
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 3ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Is there a brush attachment made for this model?

Asked by: darkchalk
NO
Answered by: handymanJY
Date published: 2017-09-06

wd4070

are there any hepa filter options either made by rigid or an aftermarket company for the 4070/4080?
Asked by: Moses911
I have no idea, I didn't look for any if they were available.
Answered by: Whome
Date published: 2017-09-06

can I buy a foam filter for a Model WD4070

I use this vacuum to clean up liquid spills, I would like some kind of filter as opposed to running without
Asked by: filterrequest
The filter and the way it mounts on to the vacuum is exactly the same as many other brands. So though I have not done so myself. I am pretty sure there is a foam filter out there under another brand that will fit.
Answered by: diversity210
Date published: 2017-09-06

IS THERE A MUFFLER FOR THE WD40800?

Asked by: DEAN
HI, HOME DEPOT SELLS THE VT2525 FOR $12.97. IT COMES IN TWO PIECES. SIMPLY SEPARATE THEM AND INSERT THE SMALLER PIECE INTO THE BLOWER PORT ON THE VAC. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND IT TO HELP STOP BLOWING THE DEBRIS AROUND SINCE IT IS SO LOW TO THE GROUND. HOWEVER IT DOES NOT REALLY MUFFLE THE SOUND.
Answered by: MOJO1
Date published: 2018-03-23

Does teh VT2570 hose kit work with this model?

It says it fits a 1 7/8 hose. The adapters do not connect the attachments. Please assist.
Asked by: Banana2
Well it states yes it will. Check with HOME DEPOT and readyu the specifications on the kit.
Answered by: AKINLAJA
Date published: 2017-09-06

Pressure

If a airwatts are 0.117354 * (CFM) * (inches water), then do I calculate correctly that this model no. WD4070 will lift water 12.9 inches high? 167 watts * (1/0.117354) * (1/110 CFM) = 12.9 inches water I feel like that number is way too low - I'm sure your product lifts water more than 1 foot high! I may have the calculation wrong or the pressure may be specified another way. What do the units of "G/h" mean? Thank you for the help.
Asked by: Jacob
You are over complicating the purchase of a vacuum. This is a small vacuum that is very powerful. Its not intended for professional use but will hand any job you have to do around the house. I know it has served me very well.
Answered by: diversity210
Date published: 2017-11-28

vacuum bag

If I am using a vacuum bag should I still use the circular clip on filter as well?
Asked by: piranhajon
Yes. The clip on filter helps protect the motor in case anything gets by the bag.
Answered by: LukeB
Date published: 2019-08-31

Can you get wheels for a rigid WD4050

Asked by: beresford5
It comes with wheels. If you mean replacement parts, go to Ridgid's web site.
Answered by: BDH11
Date published: 2017-09-06

Is the storage bin avaliable separately for sale? My unit fell and the wheel stud broke off..

Asked by: mbrad19
I am guessing it is if you go to Ridgid's website. Ridge's customer service has been very good in my experience.
Answered by: Endsley
Date published: 2017-09-06

can i use this filter for wet? is there a baffle to protect the filter from water?

Do I need to buy the separate V3700 filter for cleaning up wet debris? I wonder if wet debris coming in will go straight in the filter and clog it. My old (ancient!) shop vac had a baffle inside between the intake and the filter so that water didn't go straight to the filter, does this model have something similar?
Asked by: mikemike
Hello mikemike, The supplied VF3500 fine dust filter can be used for small amounts of wet pickups. There is no baffle to protect the filter from water, but we highly suggest to examine the filter frequently when using it for water pickup. If you’re picking up wet debris, it is highly recommended to replace the VF3500 with the wet foam filter VF3700 to further protect the motor of the vac. If you have further questions or concerns, you may call Customer Service at 1-800-474-3443 or email us at [email protected] Thank you, RIDGID Customer Support
Answered by: RIDGIDvacs
Date published: 2019-09-06

How do you put the vaccum bag on?

My vaccum has a part on the inside that the instructions on the vaccum bag does not show nor does the owners manual show it or mention anything about the bag and how to use it,
Asked by: Angie
Hello Angie, To install the filter bag, push the cardboard cap into the bag before trying to install onto the inlet. This will punch a hole in the paper, and make inserting the bag over the inlet easier. If necessary, insert the rubber gasket over the flange on the inlet tube. Push the cardboard collar all the way forward making sure the rubber gasket moves over the single rib that is present on the inlet port. If you have any further questions or concerns, you may call us at 1-800-474-3443. Thank you, RIDGID Customer Support
Answered by: RIDGIDvacs
Date published: 2019-03-06

What to do about the air blowing out the back?

Three questions! I have been using this unit for a year and I have almost no complaints. (1) The air blowing out the back is bothering me. When I had a regular vacuum cleaner (and smaller) the air blowing out the back of the vacuum was not noticeable, i.e. the unit was not as powerful as this one. Since my home is hardwood floors it is pretty obvious to see the effect of this blowing air on the opposite side of the direction I am cleaning in -- it makes the a lot of dust and particles airborne. I have asthma, so when I say bothering me, I mean I am sneezing and coughing after cleaning. Any suggestions? (2) Just to confirm, the dust bags are used for larger debris, e.g. sawdust, but the regular filter is for standard vacuuming? (3) What are the application of using HEPA filter for this vacuum? I was considering getting one for the above mentioned reason (re: I am an asthmatic). Thanks!
Asked by: Alexa
Hello Alexa, Thanks for sending your questions! First, we're sorry to hear your difficulty with the blowing air coming out of the exhaust port of the vac. The WD4070 is powerful with a 5.0 peak horsepower and 110 suction power in cubic feet per minute (CFM). Note that the amount of air entering the suction port is the same amount of air blowing out of the exhaust. Unfortunately we can't stop the air from blowing as your vac has a blowing feature where you can connect the hose into the exhaust if you intend to use it for blowing leaves and other debris. Having said that, you can buy a muffler diffuser VT2525 at Home Depot stores or online at store.ridgid.com. This accessory will control the strong pressure of air blowing out of the exhaust port. On a different note, we have different filters for different applications. The supplied blue 3-layer filter is ideal for fine dust such as drywall dust or cement dust. We also have a standard filter VF3400 for typical basement or garage dirt. The dust bags can be used for either small or large debris in conjunction with the cartridge filter. Lastly, the VF3600 HEPA media filter can be used for pollens or allergens. If you are asthmatic, we suggest that you use the VF3600 filter plus the VF3501 dust bag. If you have more questions, please call us at 1-800-474-3443.
Answered by: RIDGIDvacs
Date published: 2018-08-20
  • y_2019, m_9, d_15, h_16CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_17
  • loc_en, sid_134, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LOCALE, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_ridgid
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 58ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT