Select a Country
  • {{country.Text}}
Select a Language

4 Gallon Portable Wet/Dry Vac

WD4070

4 Gallon Portable Wet/Dry Vac

WD4070

The RIDGID® Portable wet/dry vac is designed to deliver powerful performance in a compact size. Its lightweight, small size and large carry handle provide comfortable portability. Large rear wheels and front casters provide great mobility and the accessory storage caddy keeps nozzles and wands close at hand. The vacuum’s 5.0 peak horsepower motor, 20-foot power cord, blowing capability, locking hose, quiet operation and 3-layer fine dust filter will please Pros and DIY’ers alike.

Show Less
Read More

Features

  • 5.0 Peak HP motor provides powerful performance comparable to larger size wet/dry vacs
  • Lightweight vac is extremely portable
  • Large carry handle is designed for convenient portability
  • Large rear wheels & casters provide great mobility over carpeted floors, thresholds, and rough floors at job sites
  • Accessory storage caddy keeps accessories organized and close by for easy access
  • Tug-A-Long® locking hose won’t pull loose during use
  • 1-7/8" diameter hose offers non-clogging performance similar to larger diameter hoses with the flexibility of smaller diameter hoses
  • Long 20' power cord allows wide area cleaning and wraps neatly around carry handle when it’s not in use
  • Blowing capability allows the vac to convert to a powerful, portable blower when the hose is inserted into the exhaust port
  • 3-layer fine dust filter captures fine dust particles such as dry wall dust

Specifications

Drum Size (Gallons) 4
Cord Length 20 ft.
Accessory Size 1 7/8"
Net Weight 12 lb
Built-In Accessory Storage Yes
Built-In Drain No
Casters Yes
Includes Vac, Car Nozzle, Utility Nozzle, Hose, 2 Extension Wands, Fine Dust Filter
Reconditioned No
Returnable 90-Day
Filter Type Cartridge
Included Filter VF3500
U.L. Listed Yes

Motor

Peak HP 5
Air Volume (CFM)  110
Amperage (amps)  9
Voltage 120

Ordering Information

{{model}}
Catalog Number Model No. Description Weight Cord Length Air Watts  (G/h)
lb. kg ft. m
WD4070EX WD14800  14 Gallon Wet/Dry Vac  Buy Now
4 Gallon Portable Wet/Dry Vac is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 957.
  • y_2020, m_1, d_17, h_15
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.4
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_957
  • loc_en, sid_134, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_ridgid
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 39ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Rated 3 out of 5 by from None standard hose fittings and inflexible hose The shop vac is good because of its size and it seems to draw very well. The problems are with the nonstandard hose fittings and the hose that is as stiff as a 2 by 4. I have had to use plumbing couplers, hose clamps, PVC pipe and a heat gun in an effort to attach various hand tools to the Ridgid hose. As for the hose itself I used a piece of vac hose that I had purchased from a local woodworking store and through the use of the heat gun, compression, and duct tape I now have a long-reaching flexible hose.
Date published: 2019-12-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Seriously, this thing really sucks! I’ve had a couple of shop vacs from the department store that’s almost out of business and they were ok but this Ridgid vac is way better. It’s sturdier, easy to handle, and woks great. The Ridgid shop vac is also a great value for the money.
Date published: 2019-12-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lots of suction This vac is small in size but has a lot of suction. It was exactly what I was looking for, something small that's easy to carry around but still has the power of a bigger shop vac. The suction does suffer some if the filter is dirty but that is an easy fix. Just blow it out with the air compressor.
Date published: 2019-12-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This product is perfect for me The vacuum is small, light and powerful. If your look for a small and Versatile vacuum I would highly recommend this one.
Date published: 2019-12-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This product is of good value For the money this vacuum is of great value. The included car cleaning items makes it a very versatile cleaning tool. I would strongly recommend this to anyone. A+
Date published: 2019-12-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from So far so good This is a nice, compact 4gal vacuum that comes with the attachments most people would need. There are others available as well. Good power and rolls easily enough with the front casters and larger rear wheels. I would recommend this for your smaller cleanup jobs.
Date published: 2019-11-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great compact vacuum. This product meets our needs perfectly. As we use it around our house, in the car and in the boat, it is great.
Date published: 2019-11-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works as it should. Great attachments. I also purchased the Optional attachments. Compact, lightweight but Strong. Great powerful suction.
Date published: 2019-10-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very good for a small shop I really like the size of the unit, its stability and suction power. I wish it was a bit less noisy Overall it represents good value.
Date published: 2019-10-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really strong yet small and easy to move around Fantastic machine! My first wet/dry vacuum I was constantly fighting with! Power cord was too short and suction hose would crimp up at every turn and would not roll straight when I was pulling it around a room. Set it out by the road and give it away! Rigid is ahead of the game!!
Date published: 2019-09-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This product is great to every project and every day situation I bought this wet / dry vac to collect the sawdust made on my workshop, but at the moment that I bought it my mom called me and tell me the a water pipeline were broken up and we use the vacuum to pick up the water. Of course it wasn't 2 'of water it was like 3/16 "of water, and it worksed beautifully. Moreover, it one of the most important tools on my workshop because keep everything clean, also I connect it to my Ridgid tablesaw to collect the sawdust, as I said before, and they make a perfect combination.
Date published: 2019-09-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Powerful and lightweight Powerful and lightweight easy to move from level to level using stairs
Date published: 2019-09-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very powerful. Nice product. Light and powerful. With this price should have added more accessories.
Date published: 2019-09-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Compact, rugged and powerful Great solid machine with lots of power. Great reputation and can’t beat the warranty. Lots of optional accessories.
Date published: 2019-09-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It’s not hype, it’s just a great vacuum! I’ve been trying to find a unicorn; a portable shop vac with a lot of suction power. Enter Ridgid! I’ve been extremely happy with other products of Ridgid’s and numerous friends have their vacuums as well. I took the plunge. I only regret that I didn’t get one sooner.
Date published: 2019-09-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good vacumm you can hear the power of this small shop vac. don't need a big machine since they are harder to move,store and transport. This unit has great suction power with low noise level.
Date published: 2019-09-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Little machine with a lot of power. Love it. The only problem is that I bought a carpet floor attachment with a brush. It was with all the other attachments in the store and salesman said it has an attachment and should fit .... I can't get it to fit on this vacuum. Do you have an attachment that would work with the floor brush and my machine? It is an important feature for me. Otherwise, it is great.
Date published: 2019-08-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great small vac Bought this vac to use as a dedicated vac to clean out my pellet grill. Plenty powerful enough for that but it could also be used as a small vac to clean up messes around the house, clean out the car, etc.
Date published: 2019-08-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Vacuum, Small Footprint I'm a carpenter/ contractor in Toronto and this vacuum is great for my needs. It has a lot of power and suction to pick up heavier debris. In the city where most houses are 2-3 floors plus basements, it's not a pain to haul up and down stairs even when it's full. I really like that it has a long power cord, I don't usually have to unplug it at all or grab an extension cord to clean an entire room. Also with the larger rear wheels, you can pull it right over obstacles without it getting snagged. It's also handy to have the accessory bin attached. Overall a well designed tool. Many colleagues also have this model vacuum. It just works.
Date published: 2019-08-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from light weight and effective Great vacuum I bought for our large outdoor patio and rooftop, light and maneuverable with good suction. easy to empty and store. Good value for money
Date published: 2019-08-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great small shop Vacuum with a lot of power and great suction! This small vac is easy to tug around. It has plenty of power and a lot of suction for such a little vac. I would highly recommend this shop vacuum.
Date published: 2019-08-22
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Very hard to work with hose otherwise performance wise not a problem at all but change this hard and cheap vac hose. I'm not satisfied with it. Also Very hard to work with this kind of hose otherwise performance wise not a problem at all but change this hard and cheap vac hose. I'm not satisfied with hose always came out from vac hole. Please send me better one.
Date published: 2019-08-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect balance of power and compact size. Perfect balance between good power, yet a compact size. I didn’t need a 16 gallon monster taking up limited garage space nor do I have a need to vac 16 gallons worth of stuff. But this vac doesn’t skip on power. I purchased the car attachment accessory bundle. While the hose is a good upgrade, the end is reduced thus losing suction. Also when using that hose to blow, it doesn’t stay attached despite the plastic retaining clip.
Date published: 2019-08-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from More powerful than my regular vacuum. I love this little vacuum! I was using my husband's big wet/dry vac, but it's so big & bulky so he bought me my own for the house. It works so much better than my regular vacuum. It has great suction to pick up dog hair & spider webs. I definitely recommend this product!
Date published: 2019-08-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great compact shop vac with lots of power I am very pleased with this vacuum. It is compact yet has the same power of my larger Ridgid vac. I have a small shop with limited space and this fits my needs perfectly.
Date published: 2019-08-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Get in small places It cleaned very well easy to pull around the car. An the basement and the shop better than my craftsman
Date published: 2019-08-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good for a while I had this vac and a larger one. Both I did not use heavily yet both just died on me. I took them apart to see if I could repair them and could not find the issue or anything wrong with it. I bought this new machine and it seems pretty strong right out of the box. But, I hope that it doesn't turn out to be like the other 2, just use for a few years and throw away. Time will tell, I guess...
Date published: 2019-08-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Use it everyday I use my Ridgid 4 gallon vac every day to clean the leaves off my patio and deck. I have sixteen 80 foot Hackberry trees just feet from my patio and deck. They drop leaves and berries every day. My Ridgid sucks them up with ease. I did need to purchase the larger hose but it was worth every penny. This isn’t your typical use for a wet/dry vac but it works.
Date published: 2019-08-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I was already familiar with model I have a part time job washing and cleaning interiors of vehicles, I use the same vacuum there as I purchased. Excellent suction, works well as blower, does not tip over. Easy filter change and clean up.
Date published: 2019-07-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 2nd one I've owned -wheels were a great add on- But the worst decision not to include the muffler/diffuser was a bad idea-people will be upset when dust and dirt are blown around not knowing there is one second: I like having the more flexible smaller hose I bought extra to use in house only problem was I can't find or buy the reducer/adaptor when mine broke- fits between the hose and the base I use mine in house mostly for dog hair n stairs
Date published: 2019-07-21
  • y_2020, m_1, d_17, h_15
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.4
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_957
  • loc_en, sid_134, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_ridgid
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 3ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Is there a brush attachment made for this model?

Asked by: darkchalk
NO
Answered by: handymanJY
Date published: 2017-09-06

wd4070

are there any hepa filter options either made by rigid or an aftermarket company for the 4070/4080?
Asked by: Moses911
I have no idea, I didn't look for any if they were available.
Answered by: Whome
Date published: 2017-09-06

can I buy a foam filter for a Model WD4070

I use this vacuum to clean up liquid spills, I would like some kind of filter as opposed to running without
Asked by: filterrequest
The filter and the way it mounts on to the vacuum is exactly the same as many other brands. So though I have not done so myself. I am pretty sure there is a foam filter out there under another brand that will fit.
Answered by: diversity210
Date published: 2017-09-06

IS THERE A MUFFLER FOR THE WD40800?

Asked by: DEAN
HI, HOME DEPOT SELLS THE VT2525 FOR $12.97. IT COMES IN TWO PIECES. SIMPLY SEPARATE THEM AND INSERT THE SMALLER PIECE INTO THE BLOWER PORT ON THE VAC. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND IT TO HELP STOP BLOWING THE DEBRIS AROUND SINCE IT IS SO LOW TO THE GROUND. HOWEVER IT DOES NOT REALLY MUFFLE THE SOUND.
Answered by: MOJO1
Date published: 2018-03-23

can i use this filter for wet? is there a baffle to protect the filter from water?

Do I need to buy the separate V3700 filter for cleaning up wet debris? I wonder if wet debris coming in will go straight in the filter and clog it. My old (ancient!) shop vac had a baffle inside between the intake and the filter so that water didn't go straight to the filter, does this model have something similar?
Asked by: mikemike
i did end up buying. quite happy. for the benefit of anyone else who cares: there is a baffle inside so air/sawdust/water hits the baffle first instead of going straight to the filter.
Answered by: mikemike
Date published: 2019-10-11

Does teh VT2570 hose kit work with this model?

It says it fits a 1 7/8 hose. The adapters do not connect the attachments. Please assist.
Asked by: Banana2
Well it states yes it will. Check with HOME DEPOT and readyu the specifications on the kit.
Answered by: AKINLAJA
Date published: 2017-09-06

How do you put the vaccum bag on?

My vaccum has a part on the inside that the instructions on the vaccum bag does not show nor does the owners manual show it or mention anything about the bag and how to use it,
Asked by: Angie
I don’t use the bag and it works great. Don’t need it.
Answered by: Thegoodlife
Date published: 2020-01-06

What to do about the air blowing out the back?

Three questions! I have been using this unit for a year and I have almost no complaints. (1) The air blowing out the back is bothering me. When I had a regular vacuum cleaner (and smaller) the air blowing out the back of the vacuum was not noticeable, i.e. the unit was not as powerful as this one. Since my home is hardwood floors it is pretty obvious to see the effect of this blowing air on the opposite side of the direction I am cleaning in -- it makes the a lot of dust and particles airborne. I have asthma, so when I say bothering me, I mean I am sneezing and coughing after cleaning. Any suggestions? (2) Just to confirm, the dust bags are used for larger debris, e.g. sawdust, but the regular filter is for standard vacuuming? (3) What are the application of using HEPA filter for this vacuum? I was considering getting one for the above mentioned reason (re: I am an asthmatic). Thanks!
Asked by: Alexa
The air out the back is largely due to the strung motor. If you don’t like what it’s doing, consider throwing on a pvc elbow and make it go where you want it to. As for the bag, I don’t use mine. It’s not common to use one with a shop vac.
Answered by: Thegoodlife
Date published: 2020-01-05

Pressure

If a airwatts are 0.117354 * (CFM) * (inches water), then do I calculate correctly that this model no. WD4070 will lift water 12.9 inches high? 167 watts * (1/0.117354) * (1/110 CFM) = 12.9 inches water I feel like that number is way too low - I'm sure your product lifts water more than 1 foot high! I may have the calculation wrong or the pressure may be specified another way. What do the units of "G/h" mean? Thank you for the help.
Asked by: Jacob
You are over complicating the purchase of a vacuum. This is a small vacuum that is very powerful. Its not intended for professional use but will hand any job you have to do around the house. I know it has served me very well.
Answered by: diversity210
Date published: 2017-11-28

vacuum bag

If I am using a vacuum bag should I still use the circular clip on filter as well?
Asked by: piranhajon
Yes. The clip on filter helps protect the motor in case anything gets by the bag.
Answered by: LukeB
Date published: 2019-08-31

Can you get wheels for a rigid WD4050

Asked by: beresford5
It comes with wheels. If you mean replacement parts, go to Ridgid's web site.
Answered by: BDH11
Date published: 2017-09-06

Is the storage bin avaliable separately for sale? My unit fell and the wheel stud broke off..

Asked by: mbrad19
I am guessing it is if you go to Ridgid's website. Ridge's customer service has been very good in my experience.
Answered by: Endsley
Date published: 2017-09-06
  • y_2020, m_1, d_17, h_15CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_3.0.4
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_17
  • loc_en, sid_134, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LOCALE, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_ridgid
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 37ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT