Select a Country
  • {{country.Text}}
Select a Language

16 Gallon Wet/Dry Vac With Cart

WD1851

16 Gallon Wet/Dry Vac With Cart

WD1851

This RIDGID 16 gallon high performance wet dry vacuum is designed to deliver the powerful suction, large capacity, rugged construction, unique features and excellent mobility that pro's demand for jobsite or shop. The powerful 6.5 peak horsepower motor easily handles the toughest jobsite clean-up tasks. A 3-layer fine dust filter, VF5000 captures drywall dust. Moving up and down steps or across rough terrain is a snap with the large diameter, fixed rear wheels. Add a top handle with a cord wrap, heavy duty 2-piece drum construction, an accessory storage bag attached to a quick release handle plus patented Scroll Noise Reduction for quiet operation and you’ve got a wet dry vac that meets the demands of a Pro.

Show Less
Read More

Features

  • 6.5 Peak HP Motor – Powerful suction picks up about 1 gallon of water per second
  • Scroll Noise Reduction® is a patented feature that provides quiet operation by precisely controlling the flow of air through the vac
  • Sturdy Cart, Push Handle, & Large Rear Wheels act together allowing the vac to travel easily up & down steps and across rough terrain
  • Quick Release Accessory Storage Bag keeps accessories close at hand but is quickly removable to make emptying debris from drum quick and easy
  • 2-Piece Drum Provides improved, more rugged construction to meet the higher demands found on the job site
  • 3-layer Fine Dust Filter captures fine dust particles such as dry wall dust
  • 7' Dual-Flex® Locking Hose resists collapsing and adds 180˚ flexibility at both hose ends. Hose locks onto vac for uninterrupted cleaning
  • Large Carry Handle allows easy lifting of vac into service vehicle
  • Long 20’ Cord wraps neatly around carry handle
  • Powerful exhaust airstream can be directed through the vac hose to blow debris from garages, decks, and sidewalks
  • Included locking accessories secure all attachments from hose to tool.

Specifications

Drum Size 16 Gallons (US)
Cord Length 20 ft.
Accessory Size 2-1/2" Locking
Net Weight 28.2 lbs.
Built-In Accessory Storage Yes
Built-In Drain Yes
Casters Yes
Includes Vac, Locking Wet Nozzle, Locking Utility Nozzle, Locking Car Nozzle, Locking Crevice Tool, Diffuser, Hose, 2 Locking Extension Wands, Fine Dust Filter
Reconditioned No
Returnable 90-Day
Filter Type Cartridge
Included Filter VF5000
U.L. Listed Yes

Motor

Peak HP 6.5
Air Volume (CFM)  172
Amps 12.0
Voltage 120

Support Documents

Ordering Information

Ordering Information
{{model}}
Catalog Number Model No. Description Weight
lb. kg
WD1851EX WD1855EX  VAC, WD1851EX 16 GALLON PRO 
2 1/2" Accessories
{{model}}
Catalog Number Model No. Description Weight
lb. kg
72887 VT 2501  2 1/2" Dusting Brush (VT2501) 
72902 VT 2508  2 1/2" Extension Wand - VT2508 
72907 VT 2509  2 1/2" Utility Nozzle - VT2509 
72912 VT 2510  2 1/2" Wet Nozzle - VT2510 
72922 VT 2514  2 1/2" Floor Brush - VT2514 
72932 VT 2502  2 1/2" Crevice Tool - VT2502 
72937 VT 2503  2 1/2" Blower/Car Nozzle (VT2503) 
Kits/Hoses/Etc.
{{model}}
Catalog Number Model No. Description Weight
lb. kg
24608 VT 2570  4X Pro Hose Replacement (VT2570) 
31743 VT 1755  3 Piece Adapter Kit  
32703 VT 2575  Heavy Duty Cleaning Kit: 12 Piece Kit w/Stainless Steel Extension Wands (VT2575)  9.80  4.40 
41598 VT 2561  Filter Nut/Drain Cap Combo (VT2561) 
41603 VT 2571  Turbo "Beater Bar" Kit (VT2571) 
72897 VT 2520  2 1/2" x 7' Universal Vac Hose (VT2520) 
16 Gallon Wet/Dry Vac With Cart is rated 4.8 out of 5 by 481.
  • y_2019, m_6, d_25, h_7
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_481
  • loc_en, sid_36, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_ridgid
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 25ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Rated 5 out of 5 by from They got this one right I have used shop vacs for 50 years, and the Ridgid design is one that gets it right. As a wood shop teacher, I have seen a lot of models come and go under hard use. For the price, the Ridgid vac has the features, quality and power that vacuums costing double or triple the cost do not match. It is very powerful, well made and designed, and easy to use, clean and adapt to multiple use needs. You won't go wrong with this one!
Date published: 2019-02-07
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good features low power. Has many nice tools that work very well but this Vac does not have the power promised. I have several other vacs that say they have the same power as the Ridgid and they out perform the Ridgid for power. I purchased the Ridgid as they have some outstanding claims. I have used other Ridgid products such as battery operated drills and drivers and they are great. Vacs just not be their specialty.
Date published: 2019-01-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very quiet and powerful The power of this vacuum is perfect for my shop. I attach it to any cutting tool I'm working with. The powerful suction and attachments are great for cleaning all areas of my shop. For the size and power it is very quiet. The mobility of the cart is a great feature.
Date published: 2019-01-24
Rated 3 out of 5 by from absolutely no where to store your attachments great vacuum, great power.. very durable... but there is absolutely nowhere to store your attachments... get the new NXT version. this one will have you looking for your attachments. you pay $160 for a vacuum and cant store your attachments... pitiful. im returning this one and getting a NXT model
Date published: 2019-01-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product! This product works great, I use it in my shop to keep it keen and it completes the task easily. At a great price!
Date published: 2019-01-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great customer service This vacuum will do any job or task without any problems! There customer service is is great.
Date published: 2019-01-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Strong suction. Very quiet. This vacuum has very strong suction and is very quiet. The only real downside is the short, stiff flex hose which makes the machine hard to use.
Date published: 2018-12-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from best Wet/Dry Vac ever so far great vac, worth the money but too bad my filter came defective and the store didn't believe when I showed them..:( so I end up paying for a new filter. Great job guys!! best Wet/Dry Vac I ever bought
Date published: 2018-12-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent I love it. It does a stream powerful work. It clean very good.
Date published: 2018-12-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product We vacuum 6-8 vehicles a day and this thing is a beast!! Highly recommended!
Date published: 2018-12-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Powerful! This thing is powerful! I rated the durability based on the old Ridgid I have, 15 years and still running strong!
Date published: 2018-12-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sucks perfectly I love this wet dry vac! It's nice and big, so it gets the job done! I have destroyed smaller, more flimsy ones in the past, so this is perfect for me. I can't say one bad thing about it!
Date published: 2018-12-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Absolutely a great vacuum. This vacuum is packed with power, moves along easily in my garage and driveway due to its large rear wheels and front casters. I'm very please with this product.
Date published: 2018-12-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Well-Built Unit for the Price! The assembly was easy and the quality of this Ridgid is easily noticeable in the product. The vac is very powerful and yet not absurdly loud as one might expect. The noise is a lot lower pitched than my old shrieking vac! This vac is great and comes with a nice filter to top things off!
Date published: 2018-12-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Unstoppable suction power! This unit does absolutely everything I need it to. The vacuum comes with everything I need to get the job done.
Date published: 2018-12-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Powerful Vacuum I previously owned a shop vac which I had for 20 years. My wife and kids complained about how noisy my old vac was and so when I found this vacuum on sale I decided to give it a try. I'm delighted to say I no longer need to wear ear protection
Date published: 2018-12-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Vac compared to others I’ve owned. Bought a few weeks ago and find it to be a nice working vacuum. Moves around easily,has excellent suction and appears to be rugged. The only criticism I have is that the accessories don’t push on and lock as easily as they should onto the hose.
Date published: 2018-12-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from durable! We are gutting our bathroom down to the bones, and this shop vac has been AMAZING. its sucked up so much debris, big chunks, little chunks and insulation without any issues. I have the one with the cart, so its a little bulky to drag around, but otherwise this is one of my favorite things to use!! One of the best purchases for my new house by far!
Date published: 2018-12-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from a good ridgid product. minor issues. only two things i didn't like...one was how short the cord was and the other was the hose. the hose looks like one i received with my old craftsman sweeper. it is cheap.not like a hose i had with another ridgid i used at work. I wasn't expecting to see that hose with a $150 shop vac. so far, the rest of the machine seems solid. ask me in a year.
Date published: 2018-12-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 16 gallon vacuum It was time for a new shop vacuum, did plenty of research on them, the price,the performance,the warranty is outstanding. Unboxed unit and assembled, moving it around is so easy and the storage pouch is big plus holding all the attachments. The electrical cord is very long, the suction is phenomenal. I am very happy with this vacuum.
Date published: 2018-12-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Powerful Purchased this unit to use on wood working tools because it had a very high CFM rating - completely satisfied with its performance.
Date published: 2018-12-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Decent vac. Decent vac for the money, on sale at the HD for $99. Accessories bag is somewhat lame but actually beats the old style plastic hanger that constantly fell off. The hose extension tubes hook onto the base well but if they would attach at the opposite direction the hose could connect during storage. Secure hose storage is, as always, a problem keeping it wound and in place. The power cord wraparound handle combination is to small to accommodate the good length cord. It is quiet and has good suction. Overall good vac that need some design changes.
Date published: 2018-12-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent suction, well made, easy to maneuver 16 Gallon, 6.5 HP wet/Dry vacuum, with handle/storage bag. Excellent performance, easy to move up and down steps. I also purchased the defusier and soft dusting nozzle. Well made product. 1 minor issue, 1 of the plastic pipe extensions is a bit tight to attach.
Date published: 2018-12-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great little shop vac Dead simple to use, rolls easily and when empty light and easy to carry. Sucks water like crazy, tough durable seeming plastic, top pops off and on in a snap. Used it to suck hundreds of gallons off my pool cover and it works like a champ.
Date published: 2018-12-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very good product this is the 3 one which I have owned. This is very good product have 3 of them and work them steady. The only thing which is not good when the motor wears out you cannot get replacement brushes. You will have to hunt around for them and adjust the brushes you find to fit.
Date published: 2018-12-04
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Big wheel fell off The cheap bang on clamps for the wheels are a pitiful design. I did what Ridgid should have done and drilled some holes through both ends of the wheel axle to secure the wheels with cotter pins. Also the extension pipes fall out at will so I've bought some bungees to strap those down. Lazy work Ridgid, really.
Date published: 2018-12-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This will last till I die. Got this a few weeks ago. We built a 3 car detached garage about 200 feet from our house to use as car storage and work shop. The large easy to use wheels are a blessing. Love the tool storage bag for us older people who can’t always bend down. Very powerful suction. Came with the blue filter which better catch’s saw dust and drywall dust. Ridgid you make my life easier, so thank you for that.
Date published: 2018-12-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to assemble Well made vacuum and strong suction. Has all the accessories you need.
Date published: 2018-12-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Vacuum. This vacuum really sucks. Literally, it has a lot of suction. Very easy to use. Got $59.00 off price due to Black Friday pricing.
Date published: 2018-12-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Happy with purchase Seems to have good power, lower noise level than my other sears vac and my shop vac. On board storage is good but not impressed with the storage for the 2 extention tubes as they are awkward to use, especially in poor light. Hose storage is to coil it around the top of the vac and let the end hang wherever. I do love how easy it is to transport with the 2 wheeler type wheels and handle. I also like how easy the vac will follow you when using it. Can’t really say how durable it will be but seems well built. I also purchased the car cleaning and gutter cleaning accessories but have not used yet. Nice to be able to register the vac but as usual it was not easy. Confusing to have to go to a completely different site with another set of UN and passwords different from my other Ridgid power tools.
Date published: 2018-12-03
  • y_2019, m_6, d_25, h_7
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_481
  • loc_en, sid_36, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_ridgid
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 2ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Why am I losing suction on my 16 gallon wet/dry vac?

After running for a short period, I lose all suction and no air is blowing out the exhaust. I've cleaned the filter thoroughly and removed all debris inside the vacuum. I also make sure the rubber gasket on the filter is secure around the base of the filter cage. It sounds like the float goes up right before the suction is lost and then drops when the vacuum is turned off. Any suggestions?
Asked by: LarryA
The vac has to remain upright. Check your filter, is it clean or packed with dirt or wet? If so replace it. Also if you are vacuuming liquid, you have to use the correct filter for that. Hope this helps.
Answered by: Litljohn
Date published: 2018-11-26
  • y_2019, m_6, d_25, h_7CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_6
  • loc_en, sid_36, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LOCALE, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_ridgid
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 36ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT