Select a Country
  • {{country.Text}}
Select a Language

5” Random Orbit Sander

R26011

5” Random Orbit Sander

R26011

The RIDGID 5 in. Random Orbit Sander features an electronic speed control dial for maximum control for different applications. It has a variable no-load speed of 7000-12,000 RPM and a permanent magnet motor to maintain constant speed and power under load applications. Its onboard vacuum adapter fits standard 2-1/4 in. or 2-1/2 in. hoses for a cleaner, virtually dust-free work environment.

Show Less
Read More

Features

  • This tool is backed by the industry’s only lifetime service agreement, simply register within 90 days of purchase for free parts, free service for life.
  • Best-in-class dust collection captures up to 90% of dust particles
  • Overmold on top and base offers the user comfort in multiple grip points
  • Electronic speed control from 7,000 to 12,000 RPM (no load speed)
  • Soft start and pad brake for a gouge free work piece
  • Through-body sealed slide switch for reliability and ease of use
  • Quick release dust bag for easy removal

Specifications

Input 120V, 3 Amps
No Load Speed 7,000 – 12,000 OPM
Orbit Diameter 3/32”
Pad Size 5"
Vacuum Adaptor 2-1/2” and 1-1/4”
Tool Weight 3.5 lbs
Includes Sander, 2 Sheets 80 grit paper, dust bag, hook & loop pad, heavy duty contractor bag, and operator manual.
5” Random Orbit Sander is rated 3.1 out of 5 by 21.
  • y_2019, m_4, d_23, h_20
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_21
  • loc_en, sid_788, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_ridgid
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 137ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great, reliable quality tool I am a professional wood worker and I bought this sander in 2010 and have put this thing through the ringer with heavy use and abuse, not one single problem ever except that I finally wore out the sanding pad, I figured it was cheaper and faster for me to buy a replacement pad at Home Depot for $14 than have it in service for any amount of time. If you let the tool do the work for you (the instruction manual even says do not apply pressure, let the tool do work for you or you can damage the bearing and motor) and use good sandpaper you can not go wrong with this sander. I have done thousands of great refinishing and repair jobs with this sander with out a single issue.
Date published: 2015-02-28
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Just didn't last I am not a heavy duty user of power sanders. I would say in the past year the total time spent with this sander would be less than 5 hours. It stopped vibrating when I started hooking it up to my Rigid shop vac to keep the dust down in the garage. Now when I start it, it simply spins with no vibration at all. With quality such as that I will purchase a different brand when this tool gets replaced. Yes, there is a warranty, but I like most Americans did not register my product when purchased. Guess I learned my lesson.
Date published: 2015-01-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great multi-use tool I have very small hands, so finding tools that I can use with proper grip/control isn't always easy. This sander is the perfect size! Excellent sander for many uses. I've used it for detail work re-finishing hardwood floors and stairs, so far, but it's going to be fantastic for furniture as well.
Date published: 2014-12-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 5 inch random orbit sander Have used this sander for several years.The first one lasted for about 6 months and quit.Sent it back and i was sent a new one and up till now it is still working fine.I use it in a hobbyst work shop at my home.
Date published: 2014-11-25
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Great sander, but frequently fails When this sander is working, it is great. The two different grip options are both comfortable and easy to use. Dust collection is great too, even with the standard dust bag. However, the switch has failed on this unit twice in 14 months of use, the second one within 4 months of the first repair. Thankfully, the lifetime warranty will cover the work but the frequent downtime is not good.
Date published: 2014-11-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from great product overal I've had many ridgid tools and this sander is a good one. It's outlsated many big box store sanders.
Date published: 2014-11-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Worked great after repairs for service I purchased this 5" RO sander some time ago, and have had good luck with it on many projects. I started having problems with the sander slowing down, and randomly starting and stopping while sanding. I tried quite a few things to preclude user problems, and finally got an O.K. to send it in for service. The sander finally came back after several months, and was in top shape, having been repaired at the Ridgid Service center nearest me. We've been running it for several months now, and it performs like a champ, with hard sanding all day long. I'd buy another if needed +
Date published: 2014-11-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Sander works good - I bought another one for different grit I had my first Ridgid sander 4 years ago and then last year bought another on so I do not have to change grit all the time. Variable speed helps with controlling the amount of material taken at one time. Dust collection is good. Only problem is the on/off switch is located in a bad position so I inadvertly hit it at times.
Date published: 2014-11-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from this sander preformed very well in projects tha I was doing I was doing drywall work and this sander held up very well. thought I got it too hot running it so long but it kept on going and got the job finished
Date published: 2014-11-24
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Dissapointed I am a Ridgid fan. All of my major woodworking tools are Ridgid and work extremely well...except for the 5" orbital sander. In fact I have purchased five of these sanders and the same problem occurs with all. If you plug in a new sander and turn it on, the pad rotates some but if you put your hand firmly on the pad it will stop rotating. Well, after a few hours of use, each of these has started to spin at an extremely high rpm and cannot be stopped. There is no longer an orbital motion, just a rotating high speed disc. I have accidently cut myself several times with this sander. Also a big problem is that the sander can gouge the wood item being sanded. I have sent these back for repair numerous times and they do not get repaired, but simply cleaned and returned and maintain the same problem. Ridgids tool repair does not understand the issue. The last sander came back two days ago and the store manager saw the problem and gave me a new one. I still have one sander in for repairs...we will see what happens.
Date published: 2014-03-13
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Disappointing I own several of Ridgid's power tools. For the money they all perform well. Their 5" sander is disappointing. I've had one for two years, I use it rarely and it no longer works. I would understand it if I used it for commercial purposes, but I use it maybe four times a year.
Date published: 2014-02-23
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Quit on me after one day! I bought a Ridgid table saw about 5 years ago and it has been great in every aspect. I recently purchased several other products, but it is too soon to say how well they perform. The 5" orbit sander was doing great the first day, but the on-off switch is a little difficult to move. On the second day the sander quit working altogether and I am not sure why. I thought maybe it was the switch since it did not feel or appear to be overheated. When I turned on the sander it had a delayed start so maybe it was the switch. I will know more when I try out the new one. If it reacts the same way then maybe there is a design flaw.
Date published: 2014-01-18
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Bearing Failure I've been professionally using this sander since it first came to market. The I/O switch was ALWAYS a problem, however because it worked so well I was willing to ignore that issue. Then Ridgid decided to redesign the switch and they thought it a good idea to also re design the bearing, I surmise to increase the dust collection. It did increase the dust collection (however so slightly) but now the bearings get clogged with dust. Too bad that in their re design they didn't re design the bearing seals. I installed a first gen bearing on the newly designed model and (using a shop vac for dust extraction) the sander works great without clogging the bearings.
Date published: 2013-10-19
  • y_2019, m_4, d_23, h_20
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_21
  • loc_en, sid_788, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_ridgid
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 2ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 74ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT
  • bvseo-msg: The resource to the URL or file is currently unavailable.;