Select a Country
  • {{country.Text}}
Select a Language

4 Gallon Portable Wet/Dry Vac

WD4070

4 Gallon Portable Wet/Dry Vac

WD4070

The RIDGID® Portable wet/dry vac is designed to deliver powerful performance in a compact size. Its lightweight, small size and large carry handle provide comfortable portability. Large rear wheels and front casters provide great mobility and the accessory storage caddy keeps nozzles and wands close at hand. The vacuum’s 5.0 peak horsepower motor, 20-foot power cord, blowing capability, locking hose, quiet operation and 3-layer fine dust filter will please Pros and DIY’ers alike.

Show Less
Read More

Features

  • 5.0 Peak HP motor provides powerful performance comparable to larger size wet/dry vacs
  • Lightweight vac is extremely portable
  • Large carry handle is designed for convenient portability
  • Large rear wheels & casters provide great mobility over carpeted floors, thresholds, and rough floors at job sites
  • Accessory storage caddy keeps accessories organized and close by for easy access
  • Tug-A-Long® locking hose won’t pull loose during use
  • 1-7/8" diameter hose offers non-clogging performance similar to larger diameter hoses with the flexibility of smaller diameter hoses
  • Long 20' power cord allows wide area cleaning and wraps neatly around carry handle when it’s not in use
  • Blowing capability allows the vac to convert to a powerful, portable blower when the hose is inserted into the exhaust port
  • 3-layer fine dust filter captures fine dust particles such as dry wall dust

Specifications

Drum Size 4 Gallons (US)
Peak HP 5.0
Voltage 120
CFM 110
Amps 9.0
Cord Length 20’
U.L. Listed Yes
Replacement Filters VF3500, V3501
Accessory Size 1 7/8"
Net Weight 12 lbs.

Ordering Information

{{model}}
Catalog Number Model No. Description Weight Cord Length Air Watts  (G/h)
lb. kg ft. m
WD4070EX   VAC, WD4070EX 4 GALLON  17.0  7.7  20  Buy Now
4 Gallon Portable Wet/Dry Vac is rated 4.6 out of 5 by 564.
  • y_2017, m_10, d_20, h_22
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_564
  • loc_en, sid_134, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_ridgid
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 26ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good for my purposes I've had this product for only two weeks, so have no concept of it's durability. To date it has performed very well, having lots of suction for both dry and wet work. Although largely made of plastic, the plastic is very heavy duty and should stand up to a good deal of heavy use. The vacuum container is only 4 gal size, a bit small for a working shop; however, for my use as a retired DIYer it is a great size, and the smaller size also makes it lighter and easier to store. My only complaints are: 1. the hose seems to be rather light-weight as compared to the general sturdiness of the construction, and 2.the two suction heads provided are for specific work, and RIDGID doesn't seem to offer any other heads.
Date published: 2017-10-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Who knew that this vacuum had so much suction if I did I would of bought it years ago
Date published: 2017-10-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from An excellent vacuum, great features, lots of power and easy to use! Tt is well made, stores all the accessories very conveniently which is a great feature!
Date published: 2017-10-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good size for home use. Easily transported and used for residential use. Pleased with size, quality and performance of this product
Date published: 2017-10-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Compact and powerful. A bit noisy, however that is to be expected. Great power. Portable. Using for sanding sheetrock with wen pole sander. So far so good. No mess.
Date published: 2017-10-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent buy! It's compact and powerful just what I was looking for just wish wheels were rubber coated but all in all excellent.
Date published: 2017-10-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from awesome vac highly recommend needed a new powerful wet/dry vacuum and after reading the reviews this is the one. After the first use I was completely satisfied and pleased with the power and ease of use.
Date published: 2017-10-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Outstanding Vac Primarily use for auto detailing. Love the compact size for storage. Very powerful considering the size and compared to other brands. Price was good. All in all very pleased. Only negative I can think of is the hose is not great. Looking forward to upgrading to a better/longer hose.
Date published: 2017-10-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This product has great features. This shop vacuum is the best one that I own. Plus I use it as a home vacuum.
Date published: 2017-10-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good product but I would add a feature or two... The exhaust blows directly out the back, and if you have something loose on a shelf or table, it might be blown off. So I purchased a 1 1/2 inch pvc elbow and fastened it to the exhaust port with one small screw. The exhaust is now directed toward the ceiling. I am now thinking I might build a small muffler to attach to the above (if my wife allows me enough time to tinker with this). I probably would need to direct the muffler so it would not interfere with the caddy on the back of the vacuum. (Not sure what benefit I would get from my home made muffler?) I feel I will be more satisfied with this RIDGID than the Shop-Vac which motor burned out with a awful smell.
Date published: 2017-10-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Handy portable vac Great Size and portability. Powerful suction, great blower feature. Like the onboard storage and "toolbox" design. Easy to store and put away.
Date published: 2017-09-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice size, very versatile. Moves around easily. A great little machine for everyday use around the shop and yet tough enough to tackle the clean ups during our home renovations.
Date published: 2017-09-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Concept, But Limited Accessories Included ! Being higher priced than it's upright cousins it should include much more accessories like a brush and filter bag and a muffler/diffuser like on it's non-wheeled less expensive cousin the WD40500. Also strangely enough is that the two included utility and car nozzles are not available for sale as a separate replacement item. Basically Rigid is trying to provide the least amount of accessories on their WD40XXX series and forcing their owners to purchase their overpriced accessories separately !
Date published: 2017-09-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product! The only thing that I would suggest is including the brush nozzle in the price... Garth Pinton
Date published: 2017-09-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best small vacuum on the market. This vacuum is small but has the h.p. of most larger units. The last one held up for 3 years of almost everday use. I wish I would of remembered it had a lifetime warranty before I threw it away.
Date published: 2017-09-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect for toting around does the work of my big vacuum I had a really powerful 20 gallon 6 horsepower I loved it but this one is so much easier to tote around and still great power for indoor job site cleanup
Date published: 2017-09-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Powerful for it size, lightweight very portable Great house or car vacuum . very portable and fairly light weight . Can be used on extension house for cleaning high places Has a blower port
Date published: 2017-09-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A great vac Lots of power, easy to work with, easily rolled about. I replaced a major brand when I moved. Very happy I did.
Date published: 2017-09-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice vaccuum that is easy to use and light to lift. Lots of power and good storage area. Easy to remove the top for emptying the dust and dirt.
Date published: 2017-09-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from good product for the price The vacuum cleaner worked quite well and did a commendable job of cleaning the floor in my workshop.The fact that it didn't ship with a soft brush is a bit of a disappointment but other than that I have been pleased with the product.
Date published: 2017-09-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Does what we want it to do. The four gallon Rigid vac is on one of three Rigid vacs that we use in our shop. We also have the two others hooked up to shop areas where they are most useful and all of them to a great job. The four gallon is used with a small chop saw, a couple of routers and will soon be in use with our band saw. We are not young and we see a very strong need in keeping the air clean and breathable. All of the vacs do that job for us. Recommended.
Date published: 2017-09-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect size for our use The motor on my old Ridgid vac finally gave out and when looking for a replacement realized that much of our household use required portability over capacity. The shape, handle, and wheels of this unit has made it the perfect solution for our needs. Small enough to carry easily from shop to house to driveway, with enough capacity for a moderate reno job, and still has wheels to tug around behind you. Can't comment on durability yet but so far very pleased.
Date published: 2017-09-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from powerful & quiet It is very powerful and quiet for a shop vac. I got the bags which I will continue to use so my cartridge filter should last forever. I appreciate the extra long cord and the carrying handle. Looks like a well designed quality built unit.
Date published: 2017-09-06
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Product stopped working just after a year of light use Bought this vac for around home use in the garage, cleaning out car, etc. Not used for heavy duty work so I was surprised it stopped working in just over a year so durability is weak as far as I am concerned. We called customer service and tried to send it back (you have to pay for shipping even if it breaks as soon as within a year). They suggested replacing the switch since apparently it must have a defect in design since they were quick to tell me to try this. New switch came with no instructions but I was able to install. Still does not work. Motor is sealed for the most part so I am at a loss. This vac is 95% plastic with only the motor area being metal. Surprised they would not offer to swap out motors or something. Bought at Home Depot and they will do nothing. Do not really want to spend $30 or so to ship this back when new ones cost $80. Who is to say a new one will just break again. So I cannot recommend this and my experience with this is leading me to try another manufacturer. Rigid markets itself that its tools are tough, but that has not been my experience with this product and my experience with customer service backing up this product was weak.
Date published: 2017-09-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great buy! Pleased I made the choice. It works so good. I was very surprised on its ability to even remove dog hair.
Date published: 2017-09-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Highly recommend this vacuum I have had this vacuum on 3 different submarines in the us navy. It's the best vacuum for what we use it for and easiest to use!
Date published: 2017-09-04
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Works good when it works Purchased one years back, worked for 3 or 4 years, then went out. I liked it so much I bought another. The second one worked for a little over a year, and like the last one it just stopped working as well. I learned between both purchases (turns out it's a common thing) that motors that use brushes can get dust between them, being I was able to repair a table saw and skill saw motor by just cleaning caked dust from the brushes, I figured the same would apply with a vac. However the design of this vacuum did not allow me to remove the motor to get to the brushes. I tried looking up intructions and videos with no luck. Very frustrating. All the screws are accessible yet there is a washer or bushing on the shaft that would not let me remove it and I could not free up this washer without causing damage. So yet again I threw away yet another rigid vaccuum. After reading these things should last for 7-8 years or more I just chalk it up to a couple bad apples. I never even once used them for a wet vac application!! Just bad luck???
Date published: 2017-09-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Still wish it was mine! I own over 50 Ridgid tools, mostly cordless, drills,impacts,saws-circular,recp,the entire lineup for the multi tool. Air compressor, cutoff saw and nail guns. Bought a 18 volt cordless vac a while back and lost it to my wife. She moved it from the shop/barn to the porch/house. So when I saw this wet/dry vac I knew I could have a great replacement for my barn/shop, I was wrong again. The day I opened it it was gone (made it in to the laundry room, I caught her using it on the furniture! Great product!!!!! As with all RIDGID tools. Believe every word about their warranty! Only used it a few times but problems solved quickly
Date published: 2017-09-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Reliable shop vac This is the second time I have purchased this unit. I am an interior painting contractor and use it every day. The first model lasted for about seven years. As long as the filter is clean, it will run all day sanding plaster and old paint.
Date published: 2017-09-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it... Light weight , powerful and reasonably quite . Gets the Job Done ! Like all Ridgid products looks like it will take a beating. Steve Peterborough Ontario
Date published: 2017-08-31
  • y_2017, m_10, d_20, h_22
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_564
  • loc_en, sid_134, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_ridgid
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 3ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Is there a brush attachment made for this model?

Asked by: darkchalk
NO
Answered by: handymanJY
Date published: 2017-09-06

wd4070

are there any hepa filter options either made by rigid or an aftermarket company for the 4070/4080?
Asked by: Moses911
I have no idea, I didn't look for any if they were available.
Answered by: Whome
Date published: 2017-09-06

can I buy a foam filter for a Model WD4070

I use this vacuum to clean up liquid spills, I would like some kind of filter as opposed to running without
Asked by: filterrequest
The filter and the way it mounts on to the vacuum is exactly the same as many other brands. So though I have not done so myself. I am pretty sure there is a foam filter out there under another brand that will fit.
Answered by: diversity210
Date published: 2017-09-06

Does teh VT2570 hose kit work with this model?

It says it fits a 1 7/8 hose. The adapters do not connect the attachments. Please assist.
Asked by: Banana2
Well it states yes it will. Check with HOME DEPOT and readyu the specifications on the kit.
Answered by: AKINLAJA
Date published: 2017-09-06

Pressure

If a airwatts are 0.117354 * (CFM) * (inches water), then do I calculate correctly that this model no. WD4070 will lift water 12.9 inches high? 167 watts * (1/0.117354) * (1/110 CFM) = 12.9 inches water I feel like that number is way too low - I'm sure your product lifts water more than 1 foot high! I may have the calculation wrong or the pressure may be specified another way. What do the units of "G/h" mean? Thank you for the help.
Asked by: Jacob
You are over complicating the purchase of a vacuum. This is a small vacuum that is very powerful. Its not intended for professional use but will hand any job you have to do around the house. I know it has served me very well.
Answered by: diversity210
Date published: 2017-09-06

Can you get wheels for a rigid WD4050

Asked by: beresford5
It comes with wheels. If you mean replacement parts, go to Ridgid's web site.
Answered by: BDH11
Date published: 2017-09-06

Is the storage bin avaliable separately for sale? My unit fell and the wheel stud broke off..

Asked by: mbrad19
I am guessing it is if you go to Ridgid's website. Ridge's customer service has been very good in my experience.
Answered by: Endsley
Date published: 2017-09-06

IS THERE A MUFFLER FOR THE WD40800?

Asked by: DEAN
check the accessories list on this website
Answered by: Daddio
Date published: 2017-09-06

vacuum bag

If I am using a vacuum bag should I still use the circular clip on filter as well?
Asked by: piranhajon
  • y_2017, m_10, d_20, h_22CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_14
  • loc_en, sid_134, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LOCALE, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_ridgid
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 25ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT