Select a Country
  • {{country.Text}}
Select a Language

4 Gallon Portable Wet/Dry Vac


4 Gallon Portable Wet/Dry Vac


The RIDGID® Portable wet/dry vac is designed to deliver powerful performance in a compact size. Its lightweight, small size and large carry handle provide comfortable portability. Large rear wheels and front casters provide great mobility and the accessory storage caddy keeps nozzles and wands close at hand. The vacuum’s 5.0 peak horsepower motor, 20-foot power cord, blowing capability, locking hose, quiet operation and 3-layer fine dust filter will please Pros and DIY’ers alike.

Show Less
Read More


  • 5.0 Peak HP motor provides powerful performance comparable to larger size wet/dry vacs
  • Lightweight vac is extremely portable
  • Large carry handle is designed for convenient portability
  • Large rear wheels & casters provide great mobility over carpeted floors, thresholds, and rough floors at job sites
  • Accessory storage caddy keeps accessories organized and close by for easy access
  • Tug-A-Long® locking hose won’t pull loose during use
  • 1-7/8" diameter hose offers non-clogging performance similar to larger diameter hoses with the flexibility of smaller diameter hoses
  • Long 20' power cord allows wide area cleaning and wraps neatly around carry handle when it’s not in use
  • Blowing capability allows the vac to convert to a powerful, portable blower when the hose is inserted into the exhaust port
  • 3-layer fine dust filter captures fine dust particles such as dry wall dust


Drum Size 4 Gallons (US)
Peak HP 5.0
Voltage 120
CFM 110
Amps 9.0
Cord Length 20’
U.L. Listed Yes
Replacement Filters VF3500, V3501
Accessory Size 1 7/8"
Net Weight 12 lbs.

Ordering Information

Catalog Number Model No. Description Weight Cord Length Air Watts  (G/h)
lb. kg ft. m
WD4070EX   VAC, WD4070EX 4 GALLON  17.0  7.7  20  Buy Now
4 Gallon Portable Wet/Dry Vac is rated 4.6 out of 5 by 662.
  • y_2018, m_3, d_19, h_1
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.7
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_662
  • loc_en, sid_134, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_ridgid
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk,
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 34ms
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Powerfull but compact This 5 horse vac works great with drywall dust/when it gets full clean and change filter outside. Not big and bulky only 4 gallon w/2 fixed and 2 castor wheels,rolls smooth. It has lifetime warranty so you can't go wrong purchasing this shopvac.
Date published: 2018-03-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best wet/dry vac Simply the best I ever owned for something so small.
Date published: 2018-03-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This product is a good purchase Easy to operate and maneuver around. It has very good suction and the long hose with the extension pieces allows you to get to hard to reach areas. The only thing I wish was included would be a skinny attachment that could reach tight areas in a vehicle.
Date published: 2018-03-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This product is easy to use with great features Purchased a 6 gallon Rigid previously but needed something more convenient to clean my cars. This is very compact and easy to use. Wish it had more attachment options but overall it covers everything. Easily made my own wood rack to hold attachments.
Date published: 2018-02-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice vac; fits my needs. This little shop vac is great for the price. It didn’t come with as many attachments as the comparable Shop Vac model. I was disappointed I had to go out and by other needed attachments. It brought my purchase price up to over $125, compared to the Shop Vac with the included attachments that was $80.
Date published: 2018-02-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Excellent power some issues... Vacuum has excellent power for size and portability. It seems to be well built and has an excellent warranty. I have two issues that would not stop me from recommending this product. First it doesn't come with enough attachments. Hopefully they separately sell additional attachments. The other problem is most of the debris that is picked up ends up sticking to the filter and it isn't the easiest thing to clean.
Date published: 2018-02-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Like the design Very strong suction power, great design. Stores easily.
Date published: 2018-02-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good vacuum Solid built, works great. Small enough to be easily carried but also rolls easily when you are pulling it across the floor. Seems to be be powerful enough to do the job.
Date published: 2018-02-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice and portable Nicely made and seems to work well so far... I've only used it once, but I'll ,ore later if needed.
Date published: 2018-02-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Small and powerful The vacuum has lots of suction, and is smaller and easier to move around. The hose is more flexible than the bigger hoses found on larger size vacuums. I purchased this rather than any of the competitors because of the life-time warranty
Date published: 2018-02-21
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not what I'm used to After decades of using that other major brand, I decided to try this Rigid, primarily because of the lifetime warranty. I like the units portability and the footprint, which is smaller than those other ones I've always used. The hose is a much larger diameter, and longer, and the 20 foot power cord is great. The tool "housing" is just a cavity that has no dividers, or anything to keep those attachments and hoses in place, so the tools just lay there or flop-out and toss around while using it....usually they just flip out of the cavity. The hose extensions don't stand up erect....they just fall over and become a trip-nightmare. I miss that organized portion from the other brand quite a bit. The bags you can buy are not cheap, but I found a pack of 10 from Walmart for $20, so that's where I'll be getting them. The wide attachment for the hose has an odd angle to it, which requires holding the hose and tool up higher than what I'm used to....and when trying to get under things the suck-power is reduced so much it takes multiple sweeps to pick anything up - that is a problem. I hate to say it, but I'm buying another one of that other brand to use where this one fails. Too bad the best of both worlds can't be found in just one vac.
Date published: 2018-02-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product!!!! I have several vacs and Ridgid is the best on the market. Price, value and durability are all included with every Ridgid vac.Fantastic vacuum.
Date published: 2018-02-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This shop vac has great features. I like the attachments, ease of rolling it around, strong suction, and storage compartments. One of the nicest vacs I've had.
Date published: 2018-02-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A power house! Love this machine. Powerful and easy to maneuver. Haven't had it long enough to evaluate durability but it is sturdy.
Date published: 2018-02-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from this product has great features parts are made tuff, to tackle any job that you can push at it to suck up anything
Date published: 2018-02-10
Rated 2 out of 5 by from The blower is useless The vacuum works ok, however, the blower part is useless the hose keeps coming off. Returning to Home Depot.
Date published: 2018-02-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The 4 gallon is ideal for home and work bench It is easy to handle and the shape means it follows behind me like a well behaved dog on a lease. I like the storage area that holds the attachments and the shape provides for a convenient way to fold the power cord.
Date published: 2018-02-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Doing the job. Just bought this vac so don’t really know reliability over a period of time. Was missing two accessories but customer service replaced promptly. No hassle. Like Ridgid products. Wayne
Date published: 2018-02-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from very powerful very nice easy to use, powerful. recommend to my friend.
Date published: 2018-02-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent has fantastic suction After going through 6 shop vac brands, the rigid has best hp rating and it lives up to that. Only down side is limited attachment storage, but the power this has is tremendous compared to the other brands I've had over the years.
Date published: 2018-01-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Pefect Shop Vacuum for home and auto I bought this for a number of reasons: 1) Small (Light weight) 2) Powerful 3) Hose attaches to the exhaust to use a Blower 4) Accessories such as dust bag filter, exhaust muffler 5) No high pitch whine 6) Hoses and attachments clip on. (hose does not fall off of unit when pulled) Only one suggestion: The hose that comes with it should be made from the same material as the 10 foot accessory hose. The one that comes with it can collapse and kink. But, that is also what makes it light and portable.
Date published: 2018-01-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from light weight works good,easy to maneuver,quiet and lots of power
Date published: 2018-01-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Light and easy to use. Excellent features and would hightly recommend this product.
Date published: 2018-01-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from excellent so far so good.. the best and strongest vaccum i have had in years really recommend it
Date published: 2018-01-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very powerful for its size. It’s fairly compact and convenient. The onboard storage is nice. And, the power of a device this small is very nice.
Date published: 2018-01-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I don't like the cloth filter. The cloth filter after cleaning gets soft while sitting it on the ground to dry. Is there a better, stiffer, filter that can be made?? I had a 9 gallon RIDGID for several years and the cloth filter was no good after several cleanings. I'm guessing that I could have purchased just the filter and kept the vacuum?
Date published: 2018-01-26
Rated 2 out of 5 by from This product is alright. First off, the pieces are not easy to fit together. This is especially the case for the two wand pieces. I bought a carpet/hard floor attachment and it was so short in width that it makes the job take quite a while. The auction is decent of course. All in all, I would recommend this only for absolute crude clean up jobs of only one work room.
Date published: 2018-01-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great vacuum So far I am very happy with my purchase and a good warranty
Date published: 2018-01-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Value for the Dollar I was pleasantly surprised with the quality of this vacuum. I was also surprised with the volume of the suction. Great product for the price point.
Date published: 2018-01-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good vac, BUT Great Vac, however the hose is tooooooooo stiff and has a large diameter that negates me using all the different tools I have. You should supply an universal adapter. Had to purchase one from the local hardware store at a cost of $15.00.
Date published: 2018-01-22
  • y_2018, m_3, d_19, h_1
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.7
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_662
  • loc_en, sid_134, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_ridgid
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk,
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 3ms

Is there a brush attachment made for this model?

Asked by: darkchalk
Answered by: handymanJY
Date published: 2017-09-06


are there any hepa filter options either made by rigid or an aftermarket company for the 4070/4080?
Asked by: Moses911
I have no idea, I didn't look for any if they were available.
Answered by: Whome
Date published: 2017-09-06

can I buy a foam filter for a Model WD4070

I use this vacuum to clean up liquid spills, I would like some kind of filter as opposed to running without
Asked by: filterrequest
The filter and the way it mounts on to the vacuum is exactly the same as many other brands. So though I have not done so myself. I am pretty sure there is a foam filter out there under another brand that will fit.
Answered by: diversity210
Date published: 2017-09-06

Does teh VT2570 hose kit work with this model?

It says it fits a 1 7/8 hose. The adapters do not connect the attachments. Please assist.
Asked by: Banana2
Well it states yes it will. Check with HOME DEPOT and readyu the specifications on the kit.
Answered by: AKINLAJA
Date published: 2017-09-06


If a airwatts are 0.117354 * (CFM) * (inches water), then do I calculate correctly that this model no. WD4070 will lift water 12.9 inches high? 167 watts * (1/0.117354) * (1/110 CFM) = 12.9 inches water I feel like that number is way too low - I'm sure your product lifts water more than 1 foot high! I may have the calculation wrong or the pressure may be specified another way. What do the units of "G/h" mean? Thank you for the help.
Asked by: Jacob
You are over complicating the purchase of a vacuum. This is a small vacuum that is very powerful. Its not intended for professional use but will hand any job you have to do around the house. I know it has served me very well.
Answered by: diversity210
Date published: 2017-11-28

Can you get wheels for a rigid WD4050

Asked by: beresford5
It comes with wheels. If you mean replacement parts, go to Ridgid's web site.
Answered by: BDH11
Date published: 2017-09-06

Is the storage bin avaliable separately for sale? My unit fell and the wheel stud broke off..

Asked by: mbrad19
I am guessing it is if you go to Ridgid's website. Ridge's customer service has been very good in my experience.
Answered by: Endsley
Date published: 2017-09-06


Asked by: DEAN
check the accessories list on this website
Answered by: Daddio
Date published: 2017-09-06

vacuum bag

If I am using a vacuum bag should I still use the circular clip on filter as well?
Asked by: piranhajon
Hello piranhajon, Yes, you still need to use the filter if you are using a filter bag with this vac.
Answered by: RIDGIDvacs
Date published: 2018-01-24
  • y_2018, m_3, d_19, h_1CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_2.0.7
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_14
  • loc_en, sid_134, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LOCALE, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_ridgid
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk,
  • CLOUD, getContent, 33ms